St. Thomas

St. John


Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Governor’s Nomination of Harriett Nathalie Hodge
Commissioner Nominee, VI Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs

Governor’s Nomination of Louis E. Petersen, Jr.
Commissioner Nominee, VI Department of Agriculture

Governor’s Nomination of Kevin McCurdy
Commissioner Nominee, VI Department of Finance

Governor’s Nomination of Bert M. Petersen, Jr., M.D.
University of the Virgin Islands Board of Trustees

Governor’s Nomination of Donna M. Christensen, MD
University of the Virgin Islands Board of Trustees


Bill No. 35-0045 – An Act amending title 5 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 407 relating to eligibility for parole release by adding section 4607 to establish Medical Parole Release, Geriatric Parole Release, and Non-Medical Geriatric Parole Release, and for other related purposes . Sponsored by: Senators Franklin D. Johnson and Javan E. James.

Bill No. 35-0084 – An Act amending title 11, Virgin Islands Code, chapter 21, section 1213 to allow businesses operating under a trade name to have the option of renewing the trade name every 2, 6, or 10 years intervals

Bill No. 35-0086 – An Act amending Title 3, V.I.C., chapter 1, section 10h to require background checks for all IT personnel and employees of the Bureau of Information Technology, agencies that have data centers, and any employee who handles confidential information. Sponsored by: Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff.

Bill No. 35-0099 – An Act amending title 28, chapter 23, of the Virgin Islands Code relating to the foreclosure of Liens Upon Real Property. Sponsored by: Senator Marise C. James

Bill No. 35-0119 – An Act amending title 19 Virgin Islands Code by adding a chapter 7A directing the Department of Health to develop and approve Mobile Integrated Healthcare Programs. Sponsored by: Senator Marise C. James and Co-Sponsored by: Senator Ray Fonseca

Bill No. 35-0127 – An Act amending title 14 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 89 relating to the invasion of privacy of accident and crime victims by first responders. Sponsored by: Senators Marvin A. Blyden, Dwayne M. DeGraff, Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Alma Francis Heyliger, Donna A. Frett-Gregory and Javan E. James, Sr.; Co-Sponsored by: Senator Marise C. James

Bill No. 35-0131 – An Act amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 15 to establish a “Real Time Crime Center” Centralized Crime Data System, within the Virgin Islands Police Department. Sponsored by: Senator Diane T. Capehart

Bill No. 35-0175 – An Act amending Title 23 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11, relating to emergency communications during an emergency and major disasters by adding a subchapter II establishing an Auxiliary Communications Unit within the Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency and providing an auxiliary communications resource to any department agency and autonomous or semiautonomous instrumentality of the Government of the Virgin Islands

Bill No. 35-0194 – An Act amending title 17 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 10, section
111(a) requiring the Commissioner of Education to hire a School Nurse Supervisor per
district and School Health Technicians for every public school in the Territory.


Bill No. 35-0102 – An Act honoring and commending Ralph A. deChabert, M.D. for
outstanding contributions in the medical field to the people of the Virgin Islands and
his many civic contributions to the community, especially to the island of St. Croix and
to name the Labor and Delivery/Post Partum Unit “Maternity Services” at the Juan F.
Luis Hospital and Medical Center North in his honor.

Bill No. 35-0109 – An Act honoring and commending the late Corporal Kendall
Emanuel George posthumously for his service as a Corporal in the United States Marine
Corps in the Vietnam War and for making the ultimate sacrifice to preserve democracy
and to keep America and his Virgin Islands homeland safe; naming Route 107 from
Coral Bay to Lameshur Bay, St. John “Kendall Emanual George Drive” South and
appropriating $10,000 to the Department of Public Works for signage at Kendall
Emanuel George Drive; and for other related purposes.

Bill No. 35-0123 – An Act to commission and direct the Virgin Islands Council on the
Arts to construct and erect a bronze bust of Dr. Alfred O. Heath to be placed next to
those of Edith L. Williams, J. Antonio Jarvis, and Rothschild Francis in Education Park
on the island of St. Thomas, and for other purposes.

Bill No. 35-0125 – An Act honoring and commending the late Police Lieutenant
Melbourne Clarke posthumously for his dedication, service, and contributions to the
Virgin Islands community in law enforcement by adding the name, “Police Lieutenant
Melbourne Clarke Drive”, at Route 669 on the island of St. Croix.

Bill No. 35-0131- An Act a-mending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 15 to establish a “Real Time Crime Center” Centralized Crime Data System, within the Virgin Islands Police Department.

Bill No. 35-0187 – An Act amending title 19, part V, chapter 45, by adding subchapter XI, titled Extreme Risk Protection Orders, to allow a family or household member, law enforcement officer, healthcare worker, educator or co-worker to intervene and file a court petition to temporarily confiscate and ban a person’s access to guns for one year if that person is deemed to be a risk to themselves or others.

Bill No. 35-0172 – An Act amending Title 29, chapter 5 Virgin Islands Code, relating to building codes to provide for adoption of nationally recognized consensus-based codes and standards and amendments to such codes that are in the best interests of the territory, and to provide for clarifications to the Virgin Islands building code. Sponsored by Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory

Bill No. 35-0173 – An Act amending title 5 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 201, by adding a subchapter V enacting the Safe Haven Newborn Protection Act to provide a mechanism for a newborn infant to be relinquished to a safe environment, for the parents of the newborn infant to remain anonymous if they choose and avoid civil or criminal liability for the act of relinquishing the newborn infant


Dec 07 2023


9:00 am


Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room
St. Croix


QR Code