St. Thomas

St. John


Committee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunications

Telecommunications update in light of an upsurge in consumer complaints, unresolved issues between providers and regulatory agencies, and the ongoing crisis of affordability. Topics of particular interest include:

An update on any ongoing network or other issues impacting the quality of service, along with actions plans to address any such matter;

Status of present infrastructure projects and plans for future development, with a focus on planning and utilization of federal broadband funding;

Plans for improving and expanding customer service, connections speeds and service coverage areas in the Virgin Islands;

Issues and challenges regarding coordination between telecommunications providers and government agencies on issues such as permitting, access to poles and conduits, customer service issues, etc.; and

Affordability of internet access in general, and for our territory’s students in particular, including utilization of the expanded Affordable Connectivity Program.

Invited Testifiers:
Honorable Dionne Wells-Hedrington, Commissioner, Department of Education
Honorable Derek Gabriel, Commissioner, Department of Public Works
Honorable Jean-Pierre Oriol, Commissioner, Department of Planning and Natural Resources
Ms. Jenifer O’Neal, Director, Office of Management and Budget
Mr. Andrew Smith, CEO, Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority
Ms. Sandra Setorie, Executive Director, Virgin Islands Public Services Commission
Mr. Stephan Adams, CEO, Virgin Islands Next Generation Network (viNGN)
Ms. Wanda Perez-Alvarez, Esq., Government Affairs Counsel, Liberty Mobile PR/VI
Ms. Geraldine Pitt, CEO, Viya, Inc.
Mr. Mark Hodge, Legal Counsel, T-Mobile, VI


Jan 24 2024


10:00 am - 5:00 pm


Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall
Charlotte Amalie
Senator Marvin A. Blyden


Senator Marvin A. Blyden
(340) 774-0880
QR Code