St. Thomas

St. John


Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

The Committee on Homeland Security, Justice, & Public Safety has scheduled a legislative committee hearing for 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 11, 2024, in the Cleone H. Creque Legislative Conference Room on St. John. The agenda is as follows:

BLOCK I          10:00 A.M.

Hurricane Preparedness Update – This update will cover hurricane preparedness by agencies responsible for emergency management. Information provided will include an overview of the current hurricane season forecast and potential risks, updates on evacuation plans, shelter preparations, efforts to strengthen infrastructure resilience and communication strategies

Invited Testifiers:

Daryl Jaschen, Director, V.I. Territorial Emergency Management Agency

Averil E. George, Commissioner Designee, V.I. Department of Human Services

Honorable Derek Gabriel, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Public Works

BLOCK II      1:30 P.M.

St. John Celebration Safety/Security Update – This update intends to provide an overview of safety and security efforts ahead of this year’s St. John Celebration events. Information provided will include road closures, parking restrictions and accommodations, environmental clean-ups, permitting requirements, trash removal and containerization, and other related matters.

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Ray Martinez, Commissioner, Virgin Islands Police Department

Honorable Derek Gabriel, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Public Works

Honorable Joseph Boschulte, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Tourism

Honorable H. Natalie Hodge, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Licensing & Consumer Affairs

Honorable Justa Encarnacion, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Health

Roger E. Merritt, Jr., Executive Director, V.I. Waste Management Authority


Jun 11 2024


10:00 am


Cleone H. Creque Legislative Conference Room
Senator Kenneth L. Gittens


Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
(340) 773-2424
QR Code