Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

The 35th Legislature’s Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety has scheduled a legislative committee hearing for 10:00 am, Tuesday, February 13, 2024, in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room on St. Croix. This is an in-person hearing.

 BLOCK I –   10:00 A.M.

Bill No. 35-0182 –       An Act amending title 14 of the Virgin Islands Code, chapter 51, by designating the existing provisions as subchapter I and adding a subchapter II relating to the non-consensual dissemination of sexually explicit images

 Invited Testifiers:

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Ray Martinez, Commissioner, V.I. Police Department

Ariel K. Smith, Esq., Attorney General, V.I. Department of Justice

Attorney Julie Smith-Todman, Interim Chief, Office of the Territorial Public Defender

Dr. Clema S. Lewis, Ph.D,. Executive Director, Women’s Coalition of St. Croix

Ms. Anya Stuart, Executive Director, Family Resource Center, Inc.

Ms. Jacqueline J. Heyliger, Executive Director, V.I. Domestic Violence & SAC

LUNCH – 12:30 P.M.

BLOCK II –  1:00 P.M.

Law Enforcement Officer Agency Update-This update intends to provide information from agency enforcement divisions. The testimonies will include, yet not limited to, reports on agency recruitment efforts, certification and recertification procedures, enforcement strategies, execution of penalties, citation records, and current initiatives.

 Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Justa Encarnación, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Health

Mr. Wanson Harris, Director, DOH Environmental Health

Honorable Jean-Pierre Oriol, Commissioner, DPNR

Mr. Howard Forbes, Director, DPNR Enforcement Division

Ms. H. Nathalie Hodge, Commissioner Designee, DLCA

Mr. Wilbur Francis, Director, DLCA Enforcement Division

Mr. Gleston E. McIntosh, Jr., Executive Director, P.O.S.T.

Mr. Antonio Stevens, Acting Director, VIFEMS

Mr. Leon Battiste, Fire Marshal, (STT/STJ) VIFEMS

Mr. Kevin Delande, Fire Marshal, (STX) VIFEMS

Ms. Vernice M. Gumbs, Executive Director, V.I. Taxicab Commission

Mr. George Mena Sr., Enforcement Officer, TCC Enforcement Division



Feb 13 2024


10:00 am - 5:00 pm


Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room
St. Croix
Senator Kenneth L. Gittens


Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
(340) 773-2424
QR Code