St. Thomas

St. John


Committee Government Operations & Consumer Protection


The Committee on Government Operations and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting to receive testimony and consider bills

Block I                                    9:00 AM-10:30 AM

Bill No. 34-0061 A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Hillary “Baga” Rezende for his many contributions to a steel pan music and his dedicated service to the people of the Virgin Islands. Sponsored by Senator Genevieve R. Whitaker

Invited Testifiers:

Tyrone Ambrose, Resident

Denzel Bouroughs, Resident 

Lariel Gerard, Resident

Block II                                  10:30 AM 12:00 PM

Bill No. 34-0065 An Act honoring and commending Elridge Blake for his outstanding accomplishments in sports and contributions to the people of the Virgin Islands; naming the University of the Virgin Islands sports and Fitness Center in his honor and appropriates $10,000 to cover the cost and up-keep of the signage

Sponsored by Senators Dwayne M. DeGraff and Franklin D. Johnson; Co-sponsor: Genevieve R. Whitaker

Invited Testifiers:

David Hall, SJD., President, University of the Virgin Islands

Daniela Small-Bailey, Resident

Henry Smock, Esq, Chair, University of the Virgin Islands

Curtis Gilpin, Resident

LUNCH                                  12:00 PM 1:00 PM

Block III                                 1:00 PM 2:30 PM

Bill No. 34-0080 An Act providing for the Legislature to hire a special investigator to conduct an investigation of the Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority and making an appropriation of $250,000 to the Legislature of the Virgin Islands to pay for the services of the special investigator Sponsored by Senator Kenneth L. Gittens.

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Anthony D. Thomas, Chairman, Virgin Islands Water and Power Authority

Donald G. Cole, Executive Director, Governing Board Virgin Islands. Public Service Commission

Denise N. George, Esq., Attorney General, Virgin Islands Department of Justice

Steven G. Van Beverhoudt, Inspector General, Office of the Inspector General

Block IV                                 2:30 PM- 4:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony on the V.I. Taxicab Commission operations to include but not limited to enabling law and jurisdiction, current agency challenges and plan of action to resolve challenges

Invited Testifiers:

Shane Benjamin, Director Virgin Islands. Taxicab Commission

Loretta Lloyd, Chairwoman, Virgin Islands. Taxicab Commission Board



Aug 06 2021


9:00 am - 5:00 pm


Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall
Charlotte Amalie
Senator Carla J. Joseph


Senator Carla J. Joseph
(340) 774-0880
QR Code

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *