Published: Jan 23, 2023

The 35th Legislature of the Virgin Islands, led by Senate President Novelle E. Francis, Jr. reconvened into regular legislative session today at the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall.

Lawmakers met to consider Bill No. 35-0002, a resolution adopting the Rules of the 35th Legislature of the Virgin Islands. The measure was proposed by Senator Novelle E. Francis Jr., Senator Kenneth L Gittens and the members of the Majority of the 35th Legislature.

Lawmakers also considered Bill No 35-0003, an act appropriating funds for the adoption of various portions of the Virgin Islands Agricultural Plan, submitted by the Agricultural Plan Task Force on December 29, 2021, as the official Agricultural Plan for the Territory. The measure was proposed by Senators Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Javan E. James, Sr. Samuel CarriÏŒn, Alma Francis Heyliger, Dwayne M. DeGraff Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Milton E. Potter.

Senate President Francis stated that the adoption of the plan was a step in the right direction, citing the territory’s reliance on imported food and the recent rise of the cost of eggs nationwide.

Both measures were voted upon favorably.

The legislative session then recessed until 6:30 p.m to receive the State of the Territory address by the Honorable Governor Albert Bryan, Jr.

Senators present at today’s legislative session included Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Marvin A. Blyden, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Diane T. Capehart, Dwayne M. Degraff, Ray Fonseca, Alma Francis Heyliger, Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Kenneth L. Gittens, Javan E. James, Sr., Marise C. James, Franklin D. Johnson, Carla J. Joseph, and Milton E. Potter.


Find More

June 2024

Related Content