Committee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunications



The Committee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunications has scheduled a meeting to have a discussion of Call Before You Dig Implementation and Issues, with emphasis on understanding the cause of previous failures to  the system, on preventing future damage to underground facilities, and on the proper organization and functioning of the Notification Center mandated by Act No. 7798

Invited Testifies:

Mr. Derek A. Gabriel                                              Mr. Stephan Adams 

Commissioner, Designee                                         Ceo

Department of Public works                                    Virgin Islands Next Generation Network (viNGN)

Mr. Daryl Griffith                                                    Mr. Noel Hoge

Executive Director                                                    Acting Chief Executive Officer

Virgin Islands Housing Finance Authority                V.I. Water and Power Authority

Mr. Rupert Ross                                                       Mr. Chris George

Director                                                                      Administrator

Virgin Islands Bureau of Information Technology     GIS Division, Office of the Lt. Governor

Ms. Wanda Perez                                                    Ms. Geraldine Pitt

Government Affairs Counsel                                    CEO

Liberty Mobile VI/PR                                                Viya, Inc.

Mr. David Zumwalt


Broadband VI

LUNCH 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

BLOCK II 1:00 PM – 4:00 PM

An update on telecommunications services in the Virgin Islands, with emphasis on:

Understanding the difference in rates and connection speeds between the Virgin Islands    and urban areas of the continental United States.

Understanding the changes, from a customer service perspective, resulting from the recent

acquisitions of providers in the territory.

Exploring the medium and long-term future of telecommunications in the territory

Invited Testifiers:

Mr. Rupert Ross                                                       Mr. Donald G. Cole

Director                                                                       Executive Director

Virgin Islands Bureau of Information Technology      Public Services Commission

Ms. Wanda Perez                                                     Ms. Geraldine Pitt

Government Affairs Counsel                                     CEO

Liberty Mobile VI/PR                                                 Viya, Inc.

Mr. David Zumwalt                                                   Mr. Jorge Martel

CEO                                                                           Vice-President & General Manager

Broadband VI T-Mobile Puerto Rico


Apr 19 2021


9:30 am


Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room
St. Croix
Senator Marvin A. Blyden


Senator Marvin A. Blyden
(340) 774-0880
QR Code