

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804 Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE Carla J. Joseph

SENATOR 36th Legislature of the Virgin Islands CHAIR Committee on Rules and Judiciary

VICE CHAIR Committee on Culture, Youth, Aging, Sports, and Parks

MEMBER

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

Committee of the Whole Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Memorandum: 25-007

TO: Mrs. Kurell A. Sheridan, JD Executive Director 36th Legislature of the V.I.

FROM: The Honorable Carla J. Joseph Chair Chair Committee on Rules and Judiciary

DATE: April 30, 2025

SUBJECT: Committee Report for Thursday, April 24, 2025 Hearing

Please find attached the report for the Committee on Rules and Judiciary hearing held on Thursday, April 24, 2025 in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room, St. Croix.

Cc: All Senators Chief Legal Counsel Archive Division Journal Division

RULES AND JUDICIARY APRIL 24, 2025 COMMITTEE HEARING REPORT

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary held its hearing on Thursday, April 24, 2025, at the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room on St. Croix. The Committee considered the following Governor's Re-Nomination and Bills:

- The Honorable Jessica Gallivan, Judge for the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands Judge for the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands,
- Bill No. 36-0005 An Act amending title 16 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 2, section 99 establishing a mandatory minimum bail amount in domestic violence cases. Sponsored by: Senators Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Dwayne M. DeGraff and Carla Joseph,
- Bill No. 36-0036 An Act repealing and reenacting title 20 Virgin Islands Code, part II, chapter 43, section 512 increasing penalties for traffic violations; establishing a Virgin Islands Police Department Impound Lot; and for other related purposes. Sponsored by: Senators Kenneth L. Gittens, Franklin D. Johnson, Avery L. Lewis, Dwayne M. DeGraff and Carla Joseph. Co-Sponsor: Senator Marise C. James and Kurt A. Vialet, and
- Bill No. 36-0063- An Act amending title 33, Virgin Islands Code subtitle 1, chapter 3, sections 41, 42(a), and 43(a) and (c) to clarify that gross receipts taxes must be paid by all contractors doing business in the Virgin Islands regardless of physical location. Sponsored By: Senators Clifford A. Joseph, Sr., Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Marise C. James, Hubert L. Frederick, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Franklin D. Johnson and Marvin A. Blyden.

The meeting was called to order by the Committee Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph at 10:31 a.m.

Committee Members Present

Sen. Carla J. Joseph, Chair Sen. Kenneth L. Gittens, Vice Chair Sen. Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Sen. Alma Francis Heyliger Sen. Clifford A. Joseph, Sr. Sen. Avery L. Lewis Sen. Milton E. Potter

Office of the Executive Director

Mr. Charles Brown, Jr. Ms. Myrna De-Altier-Pickard

Sergeant-At-Arms Mr. David Johnson Ms. Cynthia Jackson

Non-Committee Members Present Sen. Novelle E. Francis, Jr.

Sen. Movene E. Francis, Jr. Sen. Marise C. James

Legislative Reporters

Mrs. Nadine Coley-Williams Mrs. Vashti Gerald-Berry Ms. Joanne Samuel Mrs. Nataya Munoz-Melchoir Ms. Tricia D. Sealey

Clerk/Timekeeper Ms. Khadijah Hodge

Supporting Staff Ms. Neta Christopher

Legal Counsel Attorney Cynthia B. Moore

Public Affairs/Media Mr. Kashief Hamilton Ms. Chaunte Herbert Ms. Diana Cruz Mr. Jamal Potter Mr. Barry Leerdam Mr. Alwyn Baptiste, Jr. Mr. Eustace Browne

In block one of the meeting, The Honorable Jessica Gallivan, Judge for the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands, Governor's Re-Nominee for the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands, read her testimony into the record. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of seven (7) minutes each of questioning. Senator Kenneth L. Gittens motioned that the nomination of The Honorable Jessica Gallivan to the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands be favorably voted upon in the Committee on Rules and Judiciary and forwarded to the full body for further consideration and action. The motion was seconded by Senators Potter, Clifford A. Joseph, Sr., and Francis Heyliger. Voting in favor were Senators Carla Joseph, Gittens, Francis Heyliger, Bolques, Clifford Joseph, Lewis, and Potter. The motion was carried. (7 yea).

In the final block of the meeting, **Bill Nos. 36-0005** was introduced by Senator Angel L. Bolques, Jr., **36-0036** was introduced by Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr., **and 36-0063** was introduced by Senator Clifford A. Joseph, Sr. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (5) minutes each of debate time.

Senator Angel Bolques, Jr., made a motion to wave rule 406 and to move Amendment No. **36-353** to **Bill No. 36-0005**. The motion was seconded by Senator Lewis. The motion was carried. Senator Bolques made a motion for **Bill No. 36-0005** to be favorably voted upon in the Committee on Rules and Judiciary and forwarded to the full body for further consideration and action. The motion was seconded by Senators Potter, Lewis and Gittens. Voting in favor were Senators Carla Joseph, Gittens, Bolques, Francis Heyliger, Clifford Joseph, Lewis, and Potter. The motion was carried. (7 yea).

Senator Kenneth L. Gittens made a motion for **Bill No. 36-0036** to be favorably voted upon in the Committee on Rules and Judiciary and forwarded to the full body for further consideration and action. The motion was seconded by Senators Potter and Clifford Joseph. Voting in favor were Senators Carla Joseph, Gittens, Bolques, Francis Heyliger, Clifford Joseph, Lewis, and Potter. The motion was carried. (7 yea).

Senator Clifford A. Joseph, Sr., made a motion for **Bill No. 36-0063** to be favorably voted upon in the Committee on Rules and Judiciary and forwarded to the full body for further consideration and action. The motion was seconded by Senator Potter. Voting in favor were Senators Carla Joseph, Gittens, Bolques, Francis Heyliger, Clifford Joseph, Lewis, and Potter. The motion was carried. (7 yea).

The Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph, adjourned the Committee on Rules and Judiciary hearing at 2:59 p.m.