Legislature of the Virgin Islands HONORABLE CLIFFORD A. JOSEPH, SR.



Chair, Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety

Vice-Chair, Committee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunication Member, Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure and Planning Member, Committee on Economic Development and Agriculture Member, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

COMMITTEE ON HOMELAND SECURITY, JUSTICE AND PUBLIC SAFETY

The 36th Legislature's Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety will meet on Thursday, June 5, 2025, at 10:00 a.m. in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands.

OFFICIAL AGENDA

BLOCK I: 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.

Bill No. 36–0020 - An Act amending title 2 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 1, section 6 allowing the Police Chief of the Legislature; the Sergeant-of-Arms; or any security officer of the Legislature; who has peace officer status, to arrest a person who neglects or refuses to appear before the Legislature in obedience to subpoena. (Sponsored by: Senator Marvin A. Blyden)

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Mario Brooks
Commissioner
Virgin Islands Police Department

Mr. Terrence D. Manning
Capitol Police Chief
Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

BLOCK II: 11:15 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Bill No. 36–0027 - An Act amending title 5 Virgin Islands Code, subtitle 3, part I, chapter 311 by enacting Jah'niqua's Law requiring a defendant to pay restitution in the form of child maintenance if the victim of the offense was the parent or guardian of a minor child or dependent and if the defendant was convicted of negligent homicide by means of a motor vehicle, a violation of title 20 Virgin Islands Code, section 504, while under the influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor or narcotic drugs; or was convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicating liquors or controlled substances, a violation of title 20 Virgin Islands Code, section 493, which results in an accident that causes the victim to become disabled or totally and permanently disabled. (Sponsored by: Senator Kenneth L. Gittens)

Page | 2

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Mario Brooks
Commissioner
Virgin Islands Police Department

Mr. Frank Harris
Director of Governmental Affairs
Mothers Against Drunk Driving

Honorable Gordon Rhea
V.I. Attorney General
Virgin Islands Department of Justice

LUNCH BREAK 12:30 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.

BLOCK III: 1:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

Bill No. 36–0057 – An Act amending title 5 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 314, section 3733, subsection (a) to require automatic expungement of the arrest record and complaint or information when the accused has been acquitted. (Sponsored by: Senator Alma Francis Heyliger)

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Mario M. Brooks
Commissioner
V.I. Police Department

Ms. Julie Smith Todman, Esq.
Chief Public Defender
V.I. Office of the Public Defender

Honorable Gordon Rhea, Esq. V.I. Attorney General V.I. Department of Justice



Page | 3

Bill No. 36–0024 - An Act amending title 14 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 85 by adding section 1710 declaring a person incapable of consent to sexual relations while the person is in police custody. (Sponsored by: Senator Ray Fonseca)

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Mario M. Brooks Honorable Gordon Rhea, Esq.

Commissioner V.I. Attorney General

V.I. Police Department V.I. Department of Justice

Ms. Julie Smith Todman, Esq. Ms. Anya Stuart

Chief Public Defender Executive Director

V.I. Office of the Public Defender Family Resource Center, Inc.

BLOCK IV: 3:15 p.m. - 4:15 p.m.

Bill No. 36–0031 - An Act amending title 23 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 10, subchapter IV, section 1073 to exempt a public safety agency or private safety entity from liability for acts of negligence in the operation, administration or maintenance of a 911 service unless the acts are committed in a grossly negligent manner or are committed with willful intent. (Sponsored by: Senator Alma Francis Heyliger)

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Gordon Rhea, Esq. Mr. Daryl Jaschen

V.I. Attorney General Director

V.I. Department of Justice V.I. Territorial Management Agency

cc: All Senators

Legislative Staff

Media