

LEGISLATURE OF THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS

35th Legislature, THE HONORABLE SENATOR DIANE T. CAPEHART

3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820 Email: senatorcapehart@legvi.org Phone: (340) 773-2424 ext. 2335

Chairperson Committee on Rules & Judiciary
Vice Chair Committee on Disaster Recovery & Infrastructure
Member Committees on Health, Hospitals and Human Services
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Economic Development & Agriculture
Subcommittee on Health and Public Safety

To: Kurell A. Sheridan Executive Director

Det Com

From: Senator Diane T. Capehart

Date: September 13, 2024

RE: Rules and Judiciary Committee Report for September 12, 2024

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary members, chaired by Senator Diane T. Capehart, convened in a hearing at the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room.

The following senators attended the meeting: Diane T. Capehart, Franklin D. Johnson, Angel Bolques, Jr., Carla J. Joseph, Marise C. James, and Milton E. Potter and Non-Committee members: Novelle E. Francis, Jr. and Javan E. James, Sr.

Senators unanimously voted in favor of Bill No. 35-0303- An Act approving the Government of the Virgin Islands' conveyance of Plot No. 25B Hill Street, Company Quarter, Christiansted, St. Croix, Virgin Islands to the Virgin Islands Housing Finance Authority, sponsored by Novelle E. Francis, Jr. by request of the Governor. The measure aims to ensure that the Virgin Islands Housing Finance Authority (VIHFA) expands housing opportunities for Virgin Islands residents.

Governor Albert Bryan forwarded the following nominations to the Legislature in accordance with Title 3, Section 65a, of the Virgin Islands Code and Section 16 of the Revised Organic Act of 1954:

- Vance E. Pinney, nominee for the Virgin Islands Coastal Zone Management Commission—District of St. Thomas;
- Gordon C. Rhea, Esq., Attorney General Nominee, Virgin Islands Department of Justice

All agenda items were voted upon favorable, unanimously and sent to the full body for further consideration.

The following senators attended the meeting: Diane T. Capehart, Franklin D. Johnson, Angel Bolques, Jr., Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Carla J. Joseph, Marise C. James, and Milton E. Potter.