LEGISLATURE OF THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS

35th Legislature, THE HONORABLE SENATOR **DIANE T. CAPEHART**

3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820 Email: senatorcapehart@legvi.org Phone: (340) 773-2424 ext. 2335 Chair Vice Chair Member Committee on Rules & Judiciary

Committee on Disaster Recovery & Infrastructure Committees on Health, Hospitals, and Human Services Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Economic Development & Agriculture Subcommittee on Health and Public Safety

TO: All Members, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Honorable Milton E. Potter, Vice Chairman

Honorable Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Franklin D. Johnson Honorable Carla J. Joseph

FROM: The Honorable Senator Diane T. Capehart

Chair, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

DATE: October 7, 2024

RE: Committee on Rules and Judiciary Meeting—Thursday, October 10, 2024

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary has scheduled a meeting for *Thursday, October 10, 2024, at 9:30 AM in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room, St. Croix, Vi* to consider the following *nomination, bills, and the Legislative Symposium's Omnibus Bill:*

BLOCK I

 Governor's Nomination of Tahmin O. Clarke, Nominee GERS Board of Trustees – District of St. Thomas

BLOCK II

<u>Bill No. 35-0285</u> - An Act honoring and commending Bryan "Benny-Demus" Boulai for his outstanding achievements in the music and entertainment industries and for his contributions to the Virgin Islands community, awarding him The Official Key to the Virgin Islands, and appropriating \$10,000 annually to The DEMUS Foundation. *Sponsored by Senators Ray Fonseca and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.; Co-Sponsor Senator Samuel Carrion*

<u>Bill No. 35-0286</u> - An Act honoring and commending Verne Antonio Hodge for his years of dedicated service to the people of the Virgin Islands and its jurisprudence by renaming the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands, St. Thomas/St. John, the "Judge Verne A. Hodge Superior Court of the Virgin Islands." *Sponsored by Senators Kenneth L. Gittens, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Milton E. Potter, Marvin A. Blyden, Marise C. James, Carla J. Joseph, Alma Francis-*

Heyliger, Dwayne M. DeGraff, Franklin D. Johnson and Donna A. Frett-Gregory; Co-Sponsors Senators Ray Fonseca and Samuel Carrion

BLOCK III

<u>Bill Request No. 24-1267</u> – An Act updating the providing for efficiency in government operations (Omnibus Bill)

Cc: All Senators

All Chiefs of Staff All Divisions Public Affairs Media