LEGISLATURE OF THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS



35th Legislature, THE HONORABLE SENATOR **DIANE T. CAPEHART**

3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820 Email: senatorcapehart@legvi.org

Phone: (340) 773-2424 ext. 2335

Chair Vice Chair Member Committee on Rules & Judiciary

Committee on Disaster Recovery & Infrastructure Committees on Health, Hospitals, and Human Services Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Economic Development & Agriculture Subcommittee on Health and Public Safety

REVISED

TO: All Members, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Honorable Milton E. Potter, Vice Chairman

Honorable Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Franklin D. Johnson Honorable Carla J. Joseph

FROM: The Honorable Senator Diane T. Capehart

Chair, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

DATE: June 6, 2024

RE: Committee on Rules and Judiciary Meeting—Thursday, June 13, 2024

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary has scheduled a meeting for *Thursday*, *June 13*, 2024, at 9:30 AM in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands to consider the following nominations and bills:

BLOCK I

• Governor's Nomination of Lindel A. Williams, Nominee Virgin Islands Waste Management Authority Board of Directors – St. Croix District

Governor's Nomination of Conn J. Davis II, Nominee
 Virgin Islands Waste Management Authority Board of Directors – St. Thomas District

BLOCK II

Bill No. 35-0032 - An Act repealing and reenacting title 18 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 1, section 2, relating to government employees' eligibility for elected office, to allow government employees to run for political office while actively employed, unless specifically prohibited by federal or other laws. **Sponsored by Senators Marise C. James and Donna A. Frett-Gregory**

Invited Testifiers

- Stedmann Hodge, Jr., Democratic State Chair Democratic Party of the Virgin Islands
- John Yob, Republican State Chair Republican Party of the Virgin Islands

- Caroline Fawkes, Supervisor of Election Virgin Islands Election System
- Cindy Richardson, Director Virgin Islands Division of Personnel
- Joss Springette, Esq., Chief Negotiator Office of Collective Bargaining

BLOCK III

Bill No. 35-0117 - An Act amending Title 27 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 15, sections 421a and 422 relating to the qualifications, term limits, and duties of the members of the Real Estate Commission. *Sponsored By Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.*

Invited Testifiers:

- The Honorable H. Nathalie Hodge, Commissioner VI Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs
- Laurent Alfred, Esq., Chairperson VI Real Estate Commission

BLOCK IV

Bill No. 35-0224 - An Act amending title 19, part V, chapter 45, subchapter VI to increase access to behavioral health services, with a focus on a Psychiatric Emergency Response Team to provide mobile crisis intervention services, and the 9-8-8 telecommunication system. *Sponsored By Senators Diane T. Capehart and Ray Fonseca*.

Invited Testifiers

- The Honorable Justa E. Encarnacion, Commissioner Virgin Islands Department of Health
- Tina M. Comissiong, Esq. MPA, Chief Executive Officer Schneider Regional Medical Center
- Doug Koch, Chief Executive Officer Governor Juan F. Luis Hospital & Medical Center
- Massarae Sprauve-Webster, CEO Frederiksted Healthcare
- Tess G. Richards, MD, Executive Director St. Thomas East End Medical Center Corp.

BLOCK V

Bill No. 35-0193 - An Act amending title 27 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 15 relating to real estate brokers, sales associates, and property managers. Sponsored by Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.; Co-Sponsored by Senator Marise C. James

Bill No. 35-0230 - An Act repealing section 11 of Act No. 6570, as amended, and amending title 20 Virgin Islands Code related to the inspection and licensing of automobiles for hire. *Sponsored by Senators Dwayne M. DeGraff and Marvin A. Blyden*.

Bill No. 35-0236 - An Act amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code adding a new chapter 33A to enact the "21st Century Integrated Digital Experience Act (IDEA)" to improve governmental agency digital services, and for other purposes. *Sponsored by Senators Samuel Carrion and Carla J. Joseph.*

Bill No. 35-0255 - An Act approving the multi-year lease agreement between the Government of the Virgin Islands, acting through its Commissioner of the Department of Property and Procurement and Rumina Construction, LLC, for Parcel No. 92 A (Revised) Submarine Base, No. 6 Southside Quarter, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, to operate an equipment and material storage depot yard, construction company office, and other related purposes. Sponsored by Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr. and Marvin A. Blyden by Request of the Governor

Bill No. 35-0262 - An Act appropriating \$1,434,950 in Fiscal Year 2024 from the Community Facilities Trust Fund for the pre-construction soft cost funding to prepare the Charlotte Amalie harbor for dredging. Sponsored By Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr. and Marvin A. Blyden by Request of the Governor

Cc: All Senators
All Chiefs of Staff
All Divisions
Public Affairs
Media