LEGISLATURE OF THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS



35th Legislature, THE HONORABLE SENATOR DIANE T. CAPEHART

3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820 Email: senatorcapehart@legvi.org Phone: (340) 773-2424 ext. 2335 Chair Vice Chair Member Committee on Rules & Judiciary

Committee on Disaster Recovery & Infrastructure Committees on Health, Hospitals, and Human Services Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Economic Development & Agriculture Subcommittee on Health and Public Safety

TO: All Members, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Honorable Milton E. Potter, Vice Chairman

Honorable Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Franklin D. Johnson Honorable Carla J. Joseph

FROM: The Honorable Senator Diane T. Capehart

Chair, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

DATE: July 9, 2024

RE: Committee on Rules and Judiciary Meeting—Thursday, July 18, 2024

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary has scheduled a meeting for *Thursday*, *July 18*, 2024, at 9:00 AM in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room, St. Croix, Virgin Islands to consider the following nominations, bills and resolutions:

BLOCK I

 Governor's Nomination of Judge Ernest E. Morris, Jr., Judge Nominee Superior Court of the Virgin Islands – District of St. Croix

BLOCK II

Governor's Nomination of Julian Penn, Nominee
 Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission – District of St. Thomas

BLOCK III

Governor's Nomination of Harith Wickrema, Nominee
 Virgin Islands Conservation District – District of St. John

BLOCK IV

Bill No. 35-0227 - An Act amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 37 to enact the Virgin Islands Commission on Ethics and Conflicts of Interest. Sponsored by Senators Kenneth L. Gittens, Franklin D. Johnson, Marvin A. Blyden

Bill No. 35-0228 - An Act amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapters 8 and 37 to enumerate the duties and functions of the Virgin Islands Commission on Ethics and Conflicts of Interest; appropriating \$500,000 from the General Fund of the Treasury of the Government of the Virgin Islands to the Virgin Islands Commission on Ethics and Conflicts of Interest and for other related purposes. **Sponsored by Senators Kenneth L. Gittens, Franklin D. Johnson, Marvin A. Blyden**

Invited Testifiers

- Attorney Gordon Rhea Attorney General Nominee Department of Justice
- Attorney Marjorie Whalen President
 VI Bar Association
- Julie Smith-Todman, Esq.
 Chief Public Defender
 Office of the Public Defender

- Delia Thomas
 Inspector General
 Office of the VI Inspector General
- Regina deChabert Petersen, Esq. Administrator of Courts Judiciary of the VI
- Dr. Gwen Moolenaar League of Women Voters

Bill No. 35-0269 - An Act amending title 2 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 1 by adding a section 10 providing a penalty for the commission of perjury in proceedings before the Legislature of the Virgin Islands. *Sponsored by Senator Kenneth L. Gittens*

Invited Testifiers

- Attorney Gordon Rhea Attorney General Nominee Department of Justice
- Dr. Gwen Moolenaar League of Women Voters

Julie Smith-Todman, Esq.
 Chief Public Defender
 Office of the Public Defender

BLOCK V

Bill No. 35-0229 - An Act honoring and commending the Eighth elected Governor of the Virgin Islands, Kenneth Ezra Mapp for his years of service to the people of the Virgin Islands and naming Route 75 on the island of St. Croix from Bassin Triangle intersection at Route 70, Estate Richmond and ending at Krausse's Lagune the "Gov. Kenneth E. Mapp Highway"; appropriating \$45,000 from the General Fund of the Treasury of the Government of the Virgin Islands to the Department of Public Works to implement the mandates of this Act, to bestow the Virgin Islands Medal of Honor on Kenneth Ezra Mapp and for other related purposes. Sponsored by Senators Franklin D. Johnson, Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Milton E. Potter, Samuel Carrion, and Javan E. James, Sr.

Invited Testifiers

- Val Collens, Resident
- Delroy Richards, Resident
- Pedro Cruz, Resident

- Mona Barnes, Resident
- Attorney Peter Hiebert, Friend
- Margaret Guarino, Friend

BLOCK VI

Bill No. 35-0240 - An Act transferring the administration of the Government Insurance Fund from the Commissioner of t h e Virgin Islands Department of Finance to the Commissioner of Virgin Islands Department of Labor and amending various sections of title 24 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11 to

facilitate better recovery for injury or disease that arises out of and in the course of employment in the Virgin Islands under the Workers' Compensation Administration, and to ensure that workers entitled to Workers' Compensation benefits receive medical coverage, rehabilitation services, and disability compensation without undue delay by merging the benefits and payment components of the Workers' Compensation Insurance Program. Sponsored by Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr., by Request of the Governor

Bill No. 35-0262 - An Act appropriating \$1,434,950 in Fiscal Year 2024 from the Community Facilities Trust Fund for the pre-construction soft cost funding to prepare the Charlotte Amalie harbor for dredging. Sponsored By Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Nand Marvin A. Blyden by Request of the Governor

BLOCK VII

Bill No. 35-0195 - A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Willard John for his many contributions to the youth and the culture of the Virgin Islands. *Sponsored by Senator Marise C. James*.

Bill No. 35-0239 - An Act honoring and commending Mrs. Claire Lorraine Brown Roker for her dedicated service to the Virgin Islands community by naming the visitors center at the Ann E. Abramson Marine Facility, St. Croix, Virgin Islands, the "Claire L. Roker Visitors Center". Sponsored by Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Javan E. James, Sr., and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

Bill No. 35-0242 - A Resolution honoring and commending Miguel Santos, Jr., aka "DJ Poppy Pops" for his contributions in the field of music and in radio broadcasting of musical events and local social musical events and specifically contributing to the art of deejaying and the teaching of deejaying. Sponsored by Senator Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

Cc: All Senators
All Chiefs of Staff
All Divisions
Public Affairs
Media