

LEGISLATURE OF THE UNITED STATES VIRGIN ISLANDS

35th Legislature, THE HONORABLE SENATOR DIANE T. CAPEHART

3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820 Email: senatorcapehart@legvi.org Phone: (340) 773-2424 ext. 2335 Chair Vice Chair Member Committee on Rules & Judiciary

Committee on Disaster Recovery & Infrastructure Committees on Health, Hospitals and Human Services Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Economic Development & Agriculture Subcommittee on Health and Public Safety

REVISED

TO: All Members, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Honorable Milton E. Potter, Vice Chairman

Honorable Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Franklin D. Johnson Honorable Carla J. Joseph

FROM: The Honorable Senator Diane T. Capehart

Chair, Committee on Rules and Judiciary

DATE: September 26, 2023

RE: Committee on Rules and Judiciary Meeting—Thursday, September 28, 2023

The Committee on Rules and Judiciary has scheduled a meeting for Thursday, September 28, 2023, at 9:30 AM in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room, St. Croix, Virgin Islands to consider Nominations and Bills.

9:30 AM - 11:30 PM

• Sandra L. Setorie, Executive Director Appointee Virgin Islands Public Service Commission

Laura Nichols-Samms, Board Member Nominee,
 Virgin Islands Public Service Commission – St. John District

BLOCK II 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

<u>Bill No. 35-0014</u> - An Act posthumously honoring and commending Wayne "Facts Man" Adams for articulating and bringing events of historic significance to the people of the Virgin Islands, by naming the bridge at the Nadir intersection on the island of St. Thomas the "Wayne 'Facts Man' Adams Bridge. *Sponsored By: Senators Alma Francis-Heyliger and Marvin A. Blyden; Co-Sponsored By: Senator Ray Fonseca*

<u>Bill No. 35-0074</u> - An Act honoring and commending former Senator Almando "Rocky" Liburd for his lifetime of service to the people of the Virgin Islands especially St. John and renaming the North Shore Road on St. John "The Almando "Rocky" Liburd Drive." *Sponsored By: Senators Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Marvin A. Blyden, Carla J. Joseph and Alma Francis Heyliger; Co-Sponsored By: Senator Ray Fonseca*

BLOCK III 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

<u>Bill No. 35-0067</u> - An Act approving the Lease Agreement between the Government of the Virgin Islands, acting through its Commissioner of the Department of Property and Procurement, and Inter Island Auto Group, LLC d/b/a VIP Quick Lube for Improved Parcel No. 70 Submarine Base, No. 6A Southside Quarter, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands, to be used as a new and used car dealership, repair shop, importer of goods, retail shops, store, and for other related purposes. *Sponsored By: Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.*

<u>Bill No. 35-0104</u> - An Act approving the Lease Agreement between the Government of the Virgin Islands, acting through the Commissioner of the Department of Property and Procurement, and Roncan, Inc. d/b/a Sandcastle on the Beach to lease Plot No. 128-B Two Brothers, Smithfield, and Hesselberg, West End Quarter and Plot No. 129 Two Brothers, Smithfield, and Hesselberg, West End Quarter, St. Croix, Virgin Islands. *Sponsored By: Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.*

LUNCH 1:30 PM - 2:00 PM

BLOCK IV 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

<u>Bill No. 35-0032</u> - An Act repealing and reenacting title 18 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 1, section 2, relating to government employees' eligibility for elected office, to allow government employees to run for political office while actively employed, unless specifically prohibited by federal or other laws. *Sponsored By: Senator Marise C. James and Donna A. Frett-Gregory*

Invited Testifiers:

- Caroline Fawkes, Supervisor of Elections Virgin Islands Election System
- Cindy Richardson, Director Division of Personnel
- Joss Springette, Esq., Chief Negotiator Office of Collective Bargaining
- Steadman Hodge, Jr.
 Democratic State Chairman

Cc: All Senators
All Chiefs of Staff
All Divisions
Public Affairs
Media