

Judicial Branch Administrative Office

Rhys S. Hodge Chief Justice

Regina Petersen Administrator of Courts Debra S. Watlington Presiding Judge

Tel: (340) 774-2237 Fax: (340) 693-4109

October 26, 2023

The Honorable Diane Capehart Chair, Committee on Rule and Judiciary 35th Legislature of the Virgin Island 3022 Estate Golden Rock Christiansted, Virgin Islands 00820

RE: Committee on Rules and Judiciary Meeting – Thursday, October 26, 2023

Dear Chairperson Capehart,

Please excuse my absence/withdrawal from today's hearing. Unfortunately, I have not been well and unable to give this matter the attention required.

I extend my sincerest apology for not being able to provide an update from the Judiciary of the Virgin Islands to discuss the needs of the Judicial branch, new plans, and concerns, among other topics. However, I look forward to an opportunity in the future to provide the requested update.

I thank you and the Committee in advance for your understanding and accommodation.

Respectfully,

Regina Petersen