# The Honorable Marvin A. Blyden Vice President

### Legislature of the Birgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. BOX 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804 (340) 774-0880 CHAIRMAN

Housing, Transportation & Telecommunications

VICE CHAIR

Culture, Sports, Parks & Youth

**MEMBER** 

Budget, Appropriations & Finance

Economic Development & Agriculture

Health, Hospitals & Human Services

## Committee Report—Committee on Housing, Transportation, & Telecommunications

The Committee on Housing, Transportation & Telecommunications convened on Monday, April 24, 2023, at 9:49 a.m. in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas to receive telecommunication updates on the status and future of providers and their services, status of broadband, implementation, and the overall future of telecommunications in the territory. Additionally, we received updates on public transportation, road constructions, and repairs from the Department of Public Works.

#### **Legislative Attendance**

Committee Members Present	Non-Committee Members Present
Senator Marvin Blyden, Chair	Senator Novelle E. Francis
Senator Marise James, Vice Chair	Senator Donna Frett-Gregory
Senator Angel L. Bolques, Jr.	Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
Senator Samuel Carrion	Senator Diane T. Capehart
Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff	Senator Javan James, Sr.
Senator Ray Fonseca	
Senator Carla Joseph	

#### **Invited Testifiers**

The Honorable Derek Gabriel,	Ms. Geraldine Pitt,
Commissioner, Department of Public Works	CEO, Viya, Inc.
Mr. Stephan Adams,	Mr. Mark Hodge,
CEO, Virgin Islands Next Generation	Legal Counsel, T-Mobile, VI
Network (viNGN)	
Mr. Rupert Ross, Director,	Mr. Douglas Canton, Ms. Rhea Hodge, and
V.I. Bureau of Information Technology	Ms. Rosa White Cromwell, St. Croix
	Government Retirees, Inc
Mr. Bala Balakrishnan,	
General Manager, Liberty Mobile VI	
•	

#### The following individuals presented testimony:

- The Honorable Derek Gabriel, Commissioner, Department of Public Works
- Mr. Stephan Adams, CEO, Virgin Islands Next Generation Network (viNGN)
- Mr. Rupert Ross, Director, V.I. Bureau of Information Technology
- Mr. Bala Balakrishnan, General Manager, Liberty Mobile VI
- Ms. Geraldine Pitt, CEO, Viya, Inc.
- Mr. Mark Hodge, Legal Counsel, T-Mobile, VI
- Mr. Douglas Canton and Ms. Rhea Hodge, St. Croix Government Retirees, Inc.

The Committee on Housing, Transportation & Telecommunications adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Prepared by: \_\_ Ishani Chinnery

Chief-of-Staff