The Honorable Marvin A. Blyden Vice President

Legislature of the Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. BOX 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804 (340) 774-0880 CHAIRMAN
Housing, Transportation &
Telecommunications

VICE CHAIR

Culture, Sports, Parks & Youth

MEMBER

Budget, Appropriations & Finance

Economic Development & Agriculture

Health, Hospitals & Human Services

Committee Report—Committee on Housing, Transportation, & Telecommunications

The Committee on Housing, Transportation & Telecommunications convened on Tuesday, October 3, 2023, at 10:10 a.m. in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas to receive a testimony from the Virgin Islands Waste Management Authority to update and discuss the status and future of landfills in the territory. Discuss an assessment of the implementation of the tipping fee.

The status and future of residential and business solid waste collection. The status of the Authority's operations, including of hazardous pay workers in the Waste Management Authority. The status and future of recycling and source separation, and the status of wastewater collection and treatment.

Also, to receive testimony from various telecommunication entities for updates and discussion on ongoing network or other issues impacting the quality of service, along with actions plans to address any such matter; status of present infrastructure projects and plans for future development, with a focus on planning and utilization of federal broadband funding; and plans for improving and expanding customer service, connections speeds and service coverage areas in the Virgin Islands.

Legislative Attendance

Committee Members Present	Non-Committee Members Present
Senator Marvin A. Blyden, Chair	Senator Novelle E. Francis
Senator Marise James, Vice Chair	Senator Kenneth L. Gittens
Senator Angel L. Bolques, Jr.	Senator Diane T. Capehart
Senator Samuel Carrion	Senator Javan James, Sr.
Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff	Senator Milton A. Potter
Senator Ray Fonseca	
Senator Carla Joseph	

Invited Testifiers

Mr. Roger Merritt, Executive Director, Virgin	The Honorable Jean-Pierre Oriol,
Islands Waste Management Authority	Commissioner, Department of Planning and
	Natural Resources
The Honorable Derek Gabriel, Commissioner,	Ms. Jenifer O'Neal, Director, Office of
Department of Public Works	Management and Budget
Mr. Andrew Smith, Executive Director, V.I.	Mr. Stephan Adams, Chief Executive Officer,
Water & Power Authority	Virgin Islands Next Generation Network
Ms. Geraldine Pitt, Chief Executive Officer,	Ms. Wanda Alvarez, Government Affairs
Viya	Counsel, Liberty Communications of Puerto
	Rico/USVI
Attorney Mark Hodge, Legal Counsel, T-	
Mobile, Virgin Islands	

The following individuals presented testimony:

- Mr. Roger Merritt, Executive Director, Virgin Islands Waste Management Authority
- Mr. Andrew Smith, Executive Director, V.I. Water & Power Authority
- Mr. Stephan Adams, Chief Executive Officer, Virgin Islands Next Generation Network
- Ms. Geraldine Pitt, Chief Executive Officer, Viya
- Ms. Wanda Alvarez, Government Affairs Counsel, Liberty Communications of Puerto Rico/USVI

The Committee on Housing, Transportation & Telecommunications adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

Prepared by:

Vanessa Ortiz Williams Legislative Researcher