

# The Honorable Ray Fonseca

#### **CHAIRMAN**

#### 35th Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577

Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

**TO:** Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens, Vice-Chair

Honorable Marvin A. Blyden Honorable Diane T. Capehart Honorable Samuel Carrion Honorable Novelle E. Francis, Jr.

Honorable Novelle E. Francis, Jr Honorable Donna Frett-Gregory Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Milton E. Potter

**FROM:** Honorable Ray Fonseca

Chairman, Committee on Health, Hospitals & Human Services

May fors

DATE: Tuesday, December 05, 2023

RE: AGENDA – 12-06-23- COMMITTEE MEETING - REVISED IV

Please be advised that the Committee on Health, Hospitals & Human Services will be conducting a meeting on <u>Wednesday</u>, <u>December 6</u>, <u>2023</u>, <u>at 9:30 a.m. in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall St. Thomas</u>.

9:30am-11:00am

Bill No. 35-0187, An Act amending title 19, part V, chapter 45, by adding subchapter XI, titled Extreme Risk Protection Orders, to allow a family or household member, law enforcement officer, healthcare worker, educator or co-worker to intervene and file a court petition to temporarily confiscate and ban a person's access to guns for one year if that person is deemed to be a risk to themselves or others, sponsored by Senator Diane T. Capehart.

#### **INVITED TESTIFIER(S):**

Ms. Ariel Smith Attorney General

The Honorable Ray Martinez Commissioner, Virgin Islands Police Department



# The Honorable Ray Fonseca CHAIRMAN

### 35th Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577 Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

The Honorable Just "Tita" Encarnacion Commissioner, Department of Health

The Honorable Dionne Wells-Hedrington Commissioner, Department of Education

The Honorable Averil George Commissioner Nominee, Department of Human Services

BLOCK II 11:05am-12:15pm

Bill No. 35-0194, An Act amending title 17 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 10, section 111(a) requiring the Commissioner of Education to hire a School Health Technician for every public school in the Territory. Sponsored by Senator Kenneth L. Gittens.

#### **INVITED TESTIFIER(S):**

The Honorable Justa E. "Tita" Encarnación Commissioner, The Department of Health

The Honorable Dionne Wells-Hedrington Commissioner, Department of Education

LUNCH 12:15-12:45pm

BLOCK III 12:50PM- 2:30PM

Bill No. 35-0173, An Act amending title 5 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 201, by adding a subchapter V enacting the Safe Haven Newborn Protection Act to provide a mechanism for a newborn infant to be relinquished to a safe environment, for the parents of the newborn infant to remain anonymous if they choose and avoid civil or criminal liability for the act of relinquishing the newborn infant, Sponsored by Senator Angel L. Bolques, Jr.



# The Honorable Ray Fonseca CHAIRMAN

#### CHAIRMAN

## 35<sup>th</sup> Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577 Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

## **INVITED TESTIFIER(S):**

The Honorable Averil George Commissioner Nominee, Department of Human Services

Ms. Carla E. Benjamin, ME. ED. MSW, CSW, CPM Assistant Commissioner, Department of Human Services

Mr. Douglas Koch Chief Executive Officer, Juan F. Louis Hospital

Ms. Tina Comissiong, Esq., MPA Chief Executive Officer, Schneider Regional Medical Center

Mr. Sydney Elskoe Assistant Commissioner, Virgin Islands Police Department

Mr. Antonio Stevens Acting Director, V.I. Fire and Emergency Medical Service

Mr. Robert Bryan NRP EMS Chief, V.I. Fire and Medical Emergency Medical Services

Mr. Victor Adams EMS Chief, V.I. Fire and Medical Emergency Medical Services

> Ms. Leah Kipley Assistant Director, National Safe Haven Alliance

> Ms. Heather Burner, Rn, BSN Executive Director, National Safe Haven Alliance

Ms. Anya Stuart Executive Director, Family Resource Center

Ms. Darian Torrice-Hairston Executive Director, Nana Baby Children's Homa



# The Honorable Ray Fonseca

#### **CHAIRMAN**

## 35th Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577 Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

The Committee will receive testimony on all past, current, and future mitigation efforts, health effects, and potential risks to the community as it relates to the fire on the Bovoni landfill, on St. Thomas.

#### **INVITED TESTIFIER(S):**

Honorable Justa E. Encarnacion Commissioner, Department of Health

Honorable Jean-Pierre L. Oriol Commissioner, Department of Planning & Natural Resources

Mr. Daryl D. Jaschen Director, Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Management Agency

Mr. Roger E. Merritt Jr Executive Director, Virgin Islands Waste Management Authority

Mr. Antonio Stevens Acting Director, V.I. Fire and Emergency Medical Service

The Honorable Dionne Wells-Hedrington Commissioner, Department of Education