### **COMMITTEE ON HEALTH, HOSPITALS & HUMAN SERVICES**



# The Honorable Ray Fonseca

#### **CHAIRMAN**

#### 35th Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577

Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

**TO:** Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens, Vice-Chair

Honorable Marvin A. Blyden Honorable Diane T. Capehart Honorable Samuel Carrion Honorable Novelle E. Francis, Jr. Honorable Donna Frett-Gregory

Honorable Marise C. James Honorable Milton E. Potter

**FROM:** Honorable Ray Fonseca

Chairman, Committee on Health, Hospitals & Human Services

**DATE:** May 29, 2024

**RE:** AGENDA -Committee Hearing REVISED IV

Please be advised that the Committee on Health, Hospitals & Human Services will be conducting a hearing on <u>Wednesday June 5, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. in the Earle B. Ottley</u> Legislative Hall St. Thomas and the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Room, on St. Croix.

BLOCK I 10:00AM-10:10AM

Bill No. 35-0224 An Act amending title 19, part V, chapter 45, subchapter VI to increase access to behavioral health services, with a focus on a Psychiatric Emergency Response Team to provide mobile crisis intervention services, and the 9-8-8 telecommunication system. Sponsored by Senator Diane T. Capehart

#### **NO TESTIFIERS**

BLOCK II\_\_\_\_\_\_10:11AM-1:00PM

The Committee will receive testimony on the status of "Behavioral Health/Substance Abuse", from the departments, agencies, and organizations perspective here in the Territory. Testimonies should include, in part, the frequency and types of interactions with persons perceived to have mental disabilities.

### **COMMITTEE ON HEALTH, HOSPITALS & HUMAN SERVICES**



### The Honorable Ray Fonseca CHAIRMAN

#### 35th Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577 Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

#### **INVITED TESTIFIERS:**

The Honorable Ray A. Martinez Commissioner, Virgin Isalnds Police Department

The Honorable Averil E. George Commissioner, Department of Human Services

The Honorable Justa "Tita" E. Encarnacion Commissioner, Department of Health

The Honorable Dionne Wells-Hedrington EdD Commissioner, Department of Education

Ms. Wynnie Testamark Director, Bureau of Corrections

Ms. Tina M. Comissiong, Esq., MPA Chief Executive Officer, Schneider Regional Medical Center

Mr. Doug Koch Chief Executive Officer, Governor Juan F. Luis Hospital & Medical Center

> Mrs. Massarae Sprauve-Webster Chief Executive Officer Frederiksted Healthcare

Tess G. Richards, MD Executive Director, St. Thomas East End Medical Center Corp.

Mr. Troy A. de Chabert-Schuster State Director, AARP of the Virgin Islands

Dr. Laurie McCormick, MD, DFAPA Founder, Holistic Wellness & Psychiatry

> Dr. Denese Mrshall Psy.D Licensed Clinical Psychologist

Mrs. Andrea Shillingford
Executive Director, Catholic Charities of the Virgin Islands

### **COMMITTEE ON HEALTH, HOSPITALS & HUMAN SERVICES**



### The Honorable Ray Fonseca CHAIRMAN

## 35th Legislature of the U.S. Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. Box 1690 Charlotte Amalie, V.I. 00804 (340) 693-3577

Email: senatorrayfonseca@legvi.org

Ms. DeeBaecher Brown President, Community Foundation of the Virgin Islands

Mr. Daniel Derima
Executive Director Methodist Training & Outreach Center

Ms. Anya Stuart Executive Director, Family Resource Center Inc.

Ms. Junia John Straker Chief Executive Officer, Lutheran Social Services

Ms. Lilli Cox Director, Communications and Community Investments St. Croix Foundation

> Dr. Clema Lewis Executive Director, Women's Coalition of St. Croix

Darian Torrice-Hairston, LMSW, CSW Director, Clinical Social Worker, Nana Baby Children's Home

LUNCH 1:05PM-1:45PM\_

BLOCK III 1:50PM-4:00PM\_

The Committee will continue to receive an update on the status of Mental Health in the Territory.