

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. 1690 St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY

35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole
Committee on Rules and Judiciary
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning
Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

AGENDA

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for 10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, September 24, 2024 in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall on St. Thomas. The purpose of the meeting is to receive testimony and consider the following legislative measures:

BLOCK I - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0286 – An Act honoring and commending Verne Antonio Hodge for his years of dedicated service to the people of the Virgin Islands and its jurisprudence by renaming the Superior Court of the Virgin Islands, St. Thomas/St. John, the "Judge Verne A. Hodge Superior Court of the Virgin Islands". This bill is sponsored by Senators Kenneth L. Gittens and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

Invited Testifiers:

The Hon. Rhys Hodge, *Chief Justice* Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands

Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands

The Hon Branda I Hollar Retire

The Hon. Debra Watlington, *Presiding Judge* Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands

The Hon. Brenda J. Hollar, *Retired Judge* Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands

The Hon. Maria Cabret, Associate Justice

Mrs. Alma Plaskett-Christensen, Retired Asst. Court Administrator Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands

BLOCK II - 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0251 – An Act amending title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 16, section 274 relating to the changing of the name of the Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission to the Virgin Islands Taxicab and Limousine Commission and giving oversight authority to the Virgin Islands Taxicab and Limousine Commission over limousine services operators, and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senator Marvin A. Blyden.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Vernice Gumbs, *Executive Director* Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission

Honorable H. Nathalie Hodge, *Commissioner* V.I. Dept. of Licensing and Consumer Affairs

Mr. Chris Watson, *CEO* The Tropical Adventure Group

Mr. Willis Pinney, *President* Tripple A. Taxi

Mr. Kerry Harrigan, President Best Taxi

Mr. Dihony LaLanne, *President* St. Thomas Taxi

Mr. Lawrence Ramdhansingh, President Virgin Islands Taxi Association Mrs. Elizabeth Hansen Watley, Interim Chair Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission Board

Mr. Christopher Elizee, Owner Chris' Limousine Service

Mr. Francis Arthur, President St. Croix Taxicab Association

Mr. Perry Trotman, *CEO* Presidential Limousine

Mr. Mervin Smith, President
East End Taxicab Association

Mr. Shawn Claxton, President St. John Taxi

LUNCH - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

BLOCK III - 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0231 – An Act amending Title 20 Virgin Islands Code, part II, Chapter 32, subchapter I, section 225c, relating to permit requirements for vehicles brought into the territory, to exempt authorized dealers from the permit requirements but require them to present a bill of lading. This bill is sponsored by Senator Alma Francis Heyliger.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Barbara Jackson McIntosh, Director V.I. Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Mr. Clifford Bowsky, Owner Bowsky Auto Sales & Car Rental Mr. Justin Workman, Director of Operations Drive Green V.I.

Ms. Denise Hannah, Executive GM Metro Motors V.I.

BLOCK IV - 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0285 – An Act honoring and commending Bryan "Benny-Demus" Boulai for his outstanding achievements in the music and entertainment industries and for his contributions to the Virgin Islands community, awarding him The Official Key to the Virgin Islands and appropriating \$10,000 annually to The DEMUS Foundation. This bill is sponsored by Senators Ray Fonseca and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Kimika Woods, *Acting Director* Office of Management & Budget

Honorable Calvert White, *Commissioner* Dept. Of Sports, Parks, and Recreation

Mr. Jose Tony Rosario Resident

CC: All Senators
All Chiefs of Staff
All Divisions
Public Affairs
Media

Honorable Kevin McCurdy, *Commissioner* Dept. of Finace

Mr. Theron Thomas Resident

Mr. Sheldon Turnbull Resident