

## Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

### Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY 35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

#### CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

#### **MEMBER**

Committee of the Whole

Committee on Rules and Judiciary

Committee on Education and Workforce Development

Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning

Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

#### Revised

Memorandum: 24-013

TO: Mrs. Kurell A. Sheridan, JD

**Executive Director** 

35<sup>th</sup> Legislature of the V.I.

The Honorable Carla J. Joseph FROM:

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs,

and Consumer Protection

DATE: July 5, 2024

**SUBJECT:** Committee Report for Friday, June 28, 2024 Meeting

Please find attached the report for the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection (GOVACP) meeting held on Friday, June 28, 2024 in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room, St. Croix.

Cc: All Senators Chief Legal Counsel Archive Division

Journal Division

# GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION JUNE 28, 2024 COMMITTEE MEETING REPORT

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection held its meeting on Friday, June 28, 2024, at the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room on St. Croix. The Committee received testimony and considered the following bill:

- Bill No. 35-0239- An Act honoring and commending Mrs. Claire Lorraine Brown Roker for her dedicated service to the Virgin Islands community by naming the visitors center at the Ann E. Abramson Marine Facility, St. Croix, Virgin Islands, the "Claire L. Roker Visitors Center". This bill is sponsored by Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Javan E. James, Sr., Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Donna A. Frett-Gregory,
- Bill No. 35-0195— A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Willard John for his many contributions to the youth and the culture of the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Senator Marise C. James, and
- Bill No. 35-0242- A Resolution honoring and commending Miguel Santos, Jr., aka "DJ Poppy Pops" for his contributions in the field of music and in radio broadcasting of musical events and local social musical events and specifically contributing to the art of deejaying and the teaching of deejaying. This bill is sponsored by Senators Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Ray Fonseca.

The meeting was called to order by the Committee Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph at 10:27 a.m.

#### **Committee Members Present**

Sen. Carla J. Joseph, Chair

Sen. Javan E. James, Sr., Vice Chair

Sen. Samuel Carrion

Sen. Ray Fonseca

Sen. Kenneth L. Gittens

Sen. Alma Francis Heyliger

Sen. Milton E. Potter

#### Office of the Executive Director

Mr. Charles Brown, Jr.

Ms. Myrna De-Altier-Pickard

#### Public Affairs/Media

Mr. Omari Hicks

Mr. Kashief Hamilton

Mr. Barry Leerdam

Mr. Jamal Potter

Mr. Bernard Matthew, Sr.

Mr. Alwyn Baptiste, Jr.

Mr. Alvin Burke, Jr.

Mr. Eustace Browne

Ms. Chaunte Herbert

Ms. Africah Harrigan

Ms. Melissa Gustave

#### **Non-Committee Members Present**

Sen. Novelle E. Francis, Jr.

Sen. Diane T. Capehart

Sen. Franklin D. Johnson

Sen. Marise C. James

Sen. Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

#### **Legislative Reporters**

Ms. Nadine Williams

Ms. Joanne Samuel

#### **Sergeant-At-Arms**

Mr. Okang Dover

Ms. Shani Smith

#### Clerk/Timekeeper

Ms. Delekah Callwood

#### **Legal Counsel**

Attorney Cynthia B. Moore

In block one of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0239 was introduced by Sen. Novelle E. Francis, Jr. The Honorable Donna Christian-Christensen, MD, Former Virgin Islands Delegate to Congress; Mr. Jimmy Warren, Jr.; Dr. Clema Lewis; Ms. Melody Rames; Mr. Rupert Ross, Jr.; Ms. Bridget Dawson; Mrs. Aimee Griles-Carino, Executive Director of Our Town Frederiksted, Inc.; Mr. Christopher Richardson; Mr. Jose Raul Carrillo; The Honorable Ronald Russell, Esq, Former Senate President; and Glendia Caines whose testimony was read unto the record testified in support of the bill. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (4) minutes each of questioning. Senator Gittens made a motion for Bill No. 35-0239 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Carrion, James, and Fonseca. Voting in favor were Senators Carrion, Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, Gittens, James, Joseph, and Potter. The motion was carried.

In block two of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0195 was introduced by Sen. Marise C. James. Ms. Aminah Saleem; The honorable Samuel Sanes, St. Croix Administrator of the Government of the Virgin Islands; and Mr. Whitman Brown testified in support of the bill. The Honorable Vargrave Richards, Former Lt. Governor; Mr. Wallace Williams, Mr. Alscess Brown; and Mr. Carl Gotts's testimonies were read into the record in support of the bill. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (4) minutes each of questioning. Senator Francis Heyliger made a motion for Bill No. 35-0230 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Fonseca and Potter. Voting in favor were Senators Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, Joseph, and Potter. The motion was carried.

In the final block of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0242 was introduced by Sen. Angel L. Bolques, Jr. Mr. Delvin D. Duggins, Sr., Mr. Melvin Forbes, Ms. Juanita Boneque, Pastor Dexter Skepple, Mr. Hector Acosta, and Ms. Maricela Santos whose testimony was read into the record in support of the bill. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (4) minutes each of questioning. Senator Carrion made a motion for Bill No. 35-0242 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Gittens, Fonseca, James, and Francis-Heyliger. Voting in favor were Senators Carrion, Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, Gittens, James and Joseph. The motion was carried.

The Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph, adjourned the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection meeting at 5:06 p.m.