

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. 1690 St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY

35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole
Committee on Rules and Judiciary
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning
Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

REVISED II

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

AGENDA

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for 10:00 a.m. on Friday, June 28, 2024 in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room on St. Croix. The purpose of the meeting is to receive testimony and consider the following legislative measures:

BLOCK I - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0239—An Act honoring and commending Mrs. Claire Lorraine Brown Roker for her dedicated service to the Virgin Islands community by naming the visitors center at the Ann E. Abramson Marine Facility, St. Croix, Virgin Islands, the "Claire L. Roker Visitors Center". This bill is sponsored by Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Javan E. James, Sr., Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Donna A. Frett- Gregory.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Glendia Caines

Resident

Dr. Clema Lewis

Resident

Mr. Rupert Ross, Jr.

Resident

Mr. Jimmy Warren, Jr.

Resident

The Hon. Donna Christian-Christensen, MD

Former Virgin Islands Delegate to Congress

Mr. Jose Raul Carrillo

Resident

Ms. Bridget Dawson

Resident

The Hon. Ronald Russell. Esq.

Former Senate President

Mr. Christopher Richardson

Resident

Ms. Melody Rames

Resident

Mrs. Aimee Griles- Carino, *Executive Director* Our Town Frederiksted, Inc.

BLOCK II - 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0195— A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Willard John for his many contributions to the youth and the culture of the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Senator Marise C. James.

Invited Testifiers:

Mr. Wallace Williams

The Honorable Vargrave Richards

Resident Former Lt Governor

Mr. Whitman Brown Ms. Aminah Saleem

Resident Resident

Ms. Alscess Brown

The Hon. Samuel Sanes, St. Croix Administrator

Resident Government of the Virgin Islands

Mr. Carl Gotts

Resident

LUNCH - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

BLOCK III - 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0242— A Resolution honoring and commending Miguel Santos, Jr., aka "DJ Poppy Pops" for his contributions in the field of music and in radio broadcasting of musical events and local social musical events and specifically contributing to the art of deejaying and the teaching of deejaying. This bill is sponsored by Senator Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Ray Fonseca.

Invited Testifiers:

Mr. Delvin D. Duggins, Sr. Ms. Juanita Boneque

Resident Resident

Pastor Dexter Skepple Ms. Maricela Santos

Resident Resident

Mr. Melvin Forbes Mr. Collin Hodge

Resident Resident

CC: All Senators

All Chiefs of Staff All Divisions

Public Affairs

Media