

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. 1690 St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY

35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole
Committee on Rules and Judiciary
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning
Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

Memorandum: 23-031

TO: Mrs. Kurell A. Sheridan, JD

Executive Director

35th Legislature of the V.I.

FROM: The Honorable Carla J. Joseph

Chair

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs,

and Consumer Protection

DATE: October 26, 2023

SUBJECT: Committee Report for Wednesday, October 25, 2023 Meeting

Please find attached the report for the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection (GOVACP) meeting held on Wednesday, October 25, 2023 in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas.

Cc: All Senators

Chief Legal Counsel Archive Division Journal Division

GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION OCTOBER 25, 2023 COMMITTEE MEETING REPORT

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection held its meeting on Wednesday, October 25, 2023, at the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall on St. Thomas. The Committee received and considered the following bills:

- Bill No. 35-0027— An Act honoring and commending Mr. Myron Corbett posthumously for his many contributions to the youth of the Territory; renaming the basketball court located in Anna's Retreat, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands as "The Myron Corbett Basketball Court"; making an appropriation to erect signage at the basketball court; and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senators Donna A. Frett Gregory, Marvin A. Blyden, Ray Fonseca, and Carla J. Joseph;
- Bill No. 35-0123— An Act to commission and direct the Virgin Islands Council on the Arts to construct and erect a bronze bust of Dr. Alfred O. Heath to be placed next to those of Edith L. Williams, J. Antonio Jarvis, and Rothschild Francis in Education Park on the island of St. Thomas, and for other purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senator Ray Fonseca; and
- Bill No. 35-0091 A Resolution honoring and commending Aliyah Boston for her many accomplishments in girl's and women's basketball, her contribution as an ambassador for the Territory, and her contribution to women's sports worldwide, and awarding her the Key to the Territory. This bill is sponsored by Senators Marvin A. Blyden, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Carla J. Joseph and co-sponsored by Senators Marise C. James, Franklin D. Johnson, and Donna Frett-Gregory.

The meeting was called to order by the Committee Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph at 11:02 a.m.

Committee Members Present

Sen. Carla J. Joseph, Chair

Sen. Javan E. James, Sr., Vice-Chair

Sen. Samuel Carrion

Sen. Ray Fonseca

Sen. Alma Francis Heyliger

Sen. Kenneth L. Gittens

Sen. Milton E. Potter

Public Affairs/Media

Mr. Omari Hicks

Mr. Dequan Milliner

Ms. Chaunte Herbert

Mr. Kashief Hamilton

Mr. Barry Leerdam

Ms. Africah Harrigan

Mr. Jamal Potter

Mr. Bernard Matthew

Ms. Melissa Gustave

Mr. Alwyn Baptiste, Jr.

Mr. Alvin Burke, Jr.

Non-Committee Members Present

Sen. Donna Frett-Gregory

Sen. Marvin A. Blyden

Sen. Franklin D. Johnson

Sen. Novelle E. Francis, Jr.

Sen. Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

Sen. Dwayne M. DeGraff

Legislative Reporters

Mrs. Nataya Melchoir-Munoz

Ms. Vashti Berry

Ms. Tricia Sealey

Sergeant-At-Arms

Ms. Tasha Forbes

Mr. Terrence Manning, Jr.

Mr. Delvin Fleming

Clerk/Timekeeper

Ms. Delekah Callwood

Legal Counsel Attorney Nandi Sekou Supportive Staff Ms. Knysha Berkeley

Office of the Executive Director

Ms. Myrna De-Altier- Pickard Ms. Jervon Ottley Rev. Charles Brown, Jr.

In block one of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0027 was introduced by Sen. Donna Frett-Gregory. Ms. Shayla Solomon, Mr. Omari Peterkin, Mr. Kaylen Gregory, and The Honorable Allison Petrus, Former Senator testified in support of the bill. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (4) minutes each of questioning. Senator Potter made a motion for Bill No. 35-0027 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, and Gittens. Voting in favor were Senators Carrion, Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, Gittens, James, Sr., Joseph, and Potter. The motion was carried.

In block two of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0123 was introduced by Sen. Ray Fonseca. Dr. Cora Christian, MPH, Dr. David Hall, SJD, President of the University of the Virgin Islands, and Dr. Sidney Comissiong testified in support of the measure. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (4) minutes each of questioning. Senator Potter made a motion for Bill No. 35-0123 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Gittens and Fonseca. Voting in favor were Senators Carrion, Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, Gittens, James, Sr., Joseph, and Potter. The motion was carried.

In the final block of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0091 was introduced by Sen. Marvin A. Blyden. The Honorable Calvert A. White, Commissioner of Department Sports, Park, and Recreation, Mrs. Cleone Boston, Mr. Algernon Boston, Mr. Russell Brewley, Former Coach, Rashidi Clenance, V.I. Basketball Supporter, and Ms. Sherry Levin, Former Women's Basketball Coach for Worchester Academy testified in support of the bill. The Honorable Joseph Boschulte, Commissioner of the Department of Tourism; Ms. Dawn Staley, Head Coach of USC Bulldogs Women's Basketball; and Dr. Allison Barber testimonies were read into the record. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of four (4) minutes each of questioning. Senator Gittens made a motion for Bill No. 35-0091 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators James, Sr., Francis Heyliger, Potter, Fonseca, and Carrion. Voting in favor were Senators Carrion, Fonseca, Francis Heyliger, Gittens, James, Sr., Joseph, and Potter. The motion was carried.

The Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph, adjourned the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection meeting at 5:47 p.m.