

# Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804 Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

## THE HONORABLE Carla J. Joseph Legislative Secretary 35th Legislature of the Virgin Islands

#### CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

#### MEMBER

Committee of the Whole Committee on Rules and Judiciary Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

# COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

# AGENDA

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for <u>10:00 a.m. on Tuesday, November 21, 2023 in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall on St.</u> <u>Thomas.</u> The purpose of the meeting is to receive testimony and consider the following legislative measures:

### BLOCK I - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0084 – An Act amending title 11, Virgin Islands Code, chapter 21, section 1213 to allow businesses operating under a trade name to have the option of renewing the trade name every 2, 6, or 10 years intervals. This bill is sponsored by Senator Alma Francis Heyliger

#### **Invited Testifiers:**

Ms. Monica Williams Carbon, Esq., *Chief of Staff* Office of the Lieutenant Governor Mr. John Woods, *President* St. Thomas-St. John Chamber of Commerce

**Ms. Denise Johannes,** *Director* Corporations and Trademarks Office of the Lieutenant Governor

#### BLOCK II - 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0109 – Act honoring and commending the late Corporal Kendall Emanuel George posthumously for his service as a Corporal in the United States Marine Corps in the Vietnam War and for making the ultimate sacrifice to preserve democracy and to keep America and his Virgin Islands homeland safe; naming Route 107 from Coral Bay to Lameshur Bay, St. John "Kendall Emanual George Drive" South and appropriating \$10,000 to the Department of Public Works for signage at Kendall Emanuel George Drive; and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senator Dwayne M. DeGraff.

Comm. Govt. Ops., Veterans Affairs, & Consumer Protection November 21, 2023

#### **Invited Testifiers:**

**Mr. Patrick Farrell**, *Director* Virgin Islands Veterans Affairs

Honorable Derek Gabriel, *Commissioner* Department of Public Works Mr. Harry Daniel, Commander American Legion Post 131

Mr. Henry A. Powell Sibling

Ms. Geneva Paris Sibling

#### LUNCH - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

#### BLOCK III - 2:00 PM -4:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0186 – An Act repealing and reenacting title 3 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 16, section 274 "Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission," and enacting in its place "The Division of Transportation and Taxicab Services"; amending title 20 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 37, subchapters I & II relative to the regulation of automobiles for hire and automobile for hire medallion; amending title 20 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 39 section 433(b) directing the Commissioner of the Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs to review fees, charges, and tariffs every three years; amending title 33 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 111, section 3067 to substitute the name, "The Division of Transportation and Taxicab Services"; and providing for the transition of the employees, equipment, and supplies to the newly created entity, and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senators Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Franklin D. Johnson, Milton E. Potter, Diane T. Capehart, Javan James, Sr., Marise C. James, Carla J. Joseph, and Marvin A. Blyden.

#### **Invited Testifiers**

<b>Ms. H. Nathalie Hodge,</b> <i>Commissioner Nominee</i>	Mr. Kevin McCurdy, Commissioner Nominee
Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs	Department of Finance
<b>Ms. Vernice Gumbs</b> , <i>Executive Director</i>	<b>Ms. Loretta Lloyd</b> , <i>Chairwoman</i>
Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission	Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission Board
Mr. Mervin Smith, <i>President</i>	<b>Mr. Francis Arthur</b> , <i>President</i>
East End Taxicab Association	St. Croix Taxicab Association
Mr. Kelly George, Owner	<b>Ms. Annie Fortuna</b> , <i>Owner</i>
Kellie's Taxi Services	Annie's Taxi Services
Mr. Shawn Claxton, President	<b>Mr. Willis Pinney</b> , <i>President</i>
St. John Taxi Services	AAA Taxi and Tours
CC: All Senators	

All Chiefs of Staff All Divisions Public Affairs Media