

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

Carla J. Joseph
LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY

35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole
Committee on Rules and Judiciary
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning

Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

Memorandum: 23-008

TO: Members of the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, & Consumer

Protection

The Hon. Javan E. James, Sr., Vice-Chair

The Hon. Samuel Carrion The Hon. Ray Fonseca

The Hon. Alma Francis Heyliger The Hon. Kenneth L. Gittens The Hon. Milton E. Potter

FROM: Carla J. Joseph

Chair

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, & Consumer Protection

DATE: March 10, 2023

RE: Agenda-Comm. on GOVACP meeting- Monday, March 20, 2023

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for <u>9:30 a.m. on Monday, March 20, 2023 in the Frits E. Lawaetz legislative Conference Room, St. Croix.</u> The purpose of the meeting is to receive and consider the following legislative measure:

• Bill No. <u>35-0010</u> - An Act honoring and commending Mr. Aloy "Wenty" Nielsen for his years of service to the Virgin Islands community and naming the Christiansted Bypass in his honor; making a \$10,000 appropriation from the General Fund for signage at Aloy Nielsen Bypass and for other related purposed. This bill is sponsored by Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Kenneth L. Gittens, and Angel L. Bolques.

Then, the Committee will receive testimony on the operations of the Office on Virgin Islands Veterans Affairs, Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs, and the Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission.

9:30 AM - 11:00 AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0010, An Act honoring and commending Mr. Aloy "Wenty" Nielsen for his years of service to the Virgin Islands community and naming the Christiansted Bypass in his honor; making a \$10,000 appropriation from the General Fund for signage at Aloy Nielsen Bypass and for other related purposed. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Kenneth L. Gittens, and Angel L. Bolques.

Invited Testifiers:

Mr. Robert MooreheadRick NielsonResidentResident

Wystan Benjamin John Paul David

Resident Resident

Daryl Smalls, *Executive Director Territorial Hospital Redevelopment Team* Government Hospitals and Health Facilities Corporation

BLOCK II 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM

The Committee will receive testimony on the operations of the Office of Virgin Islands Veterans Affairs to include but not limited to enabling law and jurisdiction, current agency challenges and plan of action to resolve challenges.

Invited Testifiers:

Mr. Patrick Farrell, Director Virgin Islands Veterans Affairs **Mr. Joel Gifft**, *Veteran* United States Army

LUNCH 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

BLOCK III 1:30 PM - 3:30 PM

The Committee will receive testimony on the operations of the Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs to include but not limited to enabling law and jurisdiction, current agency challenges and plan of action to resolve challenges.

Invited Testifier:

Honorable Richard T. Evangelista, Esq., *Commissioner* Department of Licensing and Consumer Affairs

BLOCK IV 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony on the operations of the Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission to include but not limited to enabling law and jurisdiction, current agency challenges and plan of action to resolve challenges.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Vernice Gumbs, *Executive Director* Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission

Ms. Loretta Lloyd, *Chair* Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission Board

CC: All Senators
All Chiefs of Staff
All Divisions
Public Affairs
Media