

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804 Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY

35TH LEGISLATURE OF
THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole
Committee on Rules and Judiciary
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning
Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

AGENDA

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for 10:00 a.m. on Wednesday, July 12, 2023 in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room in St. Croix. The purpose of the meeting is to receive testimony and consider the following legislative measures:

BLOCK I - 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0029 – An Act honoring and commending Donna Marie Christian-Christiansen M.D., for her tireless contributions to the people of the Virgin Islands in the medical field and representation in the United States Congress. This bill is sponsored by Senators Novelle E. Francis, Jr., Angel L. Bolques, Jr, and Carla J. Joseph.

Invited Testifiers:

The Honorable Justa Encarnacion, *Commissioner* Virgin Islands Department of Health

The Honorable James O'Bryan, Jr. Former Senator

Mrs. Monique Clendinen Watson Resident

Mr. Basil Ottley, *Director of Policy* U.S. Department of Interior

Mrs. Renee McAlpin-Petersen, STX District Chair Virgin Islands Democratic Party

Dr. Mavis Matthew Resident

BLOCK II - 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0041 – An Act awarding the Virgin Islands Medal of Honor posthumously to former Senator Edgar Milton Iles for his commendable public service and contributions to the people of the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Senators Kenneth L. Gittens and Carla J. Joseph.

Invited Testifiers:

The Honorable Iver Stridiron Former Senator

The Honorable Lilliana Belardo De O'Neal Former Senator

LUNCH - 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

BLOCK III - 2:00 PM -3:30PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0100- A Resolution honoring and commending Music in Motion School of Higher Dance Education and its founder, Charlita Schuster, on the occasion of the 40th Anniversary of the establishment of the Music in Motion Dance Academy. This bill is sponsored by Senator Samuel Carrion.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Emmanuella Perez Cassius

Dr. ChenziRa Davis Kahina

Resident

Resident

Afrilasia Joseph-Phipps

Resident

BLOCK IV - 3:30 PM -5:00PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0101- A Resolution honoring and commending Dr. Olaf "Bronco" Hendricks for his tireless years of remarkable and invaluable contributions to the people of the Virgin Islands in the field of psychiatry, his advocacy for social justice for individuals with behavioral health and substance use issues, and for his music. This bill is sponsored by Senators Franklin Johnson and Carla J. Joseph.

Invited Testifiers:

Mr. Kai A. Hendricks

Mr. Bodil Simmonds

Resident

Resident

The Honorable Dr. Donna Christian-Christensen, M.D.

Former Delegate to Congress

Dr. Stanley Jacobs

Resident

CC: All Senators

All Chiefs of Staff All Divisions Public Affairs Media