Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY **35TH LEGISLATURE OF**

THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and **Office of Insular Affairs**

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole Committee on Rules and Judiciary Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

Memorandum: 23-006

TO:	Mrs. Kurell A. Sheridan, JD
	Executive Director
	35 th Legislature of the V.I.

FROM:

ah Carla Joseph _

Chair Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

DATE: March 1, 2023

SUBJECT: Committee Report for Tuesday, February 28, 2023 Meeting

Please find attached the report for the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection (GOVACP) meeting held on Tuesday, February 28, 2023 in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas.

Cc: All Senators Chief Legal Counsel Archive Division Journal Division

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION FEBRUARY 28,2023 COMMITTEE MEETING REPORT

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection held its meeting on Wednesday, October 19, 2022, at the Frits E. Lawaetz Conference Room on St. Croix. The Committee received testimony and considered the following two (4) bills:

- Bill No. 35-0006 An Act honoring and commending former Senator George E. Goodwin for his many years of expansive contributions to the Virgin Islands community as a whole, through his roles in various areas of service to the territory as well as advocation for social justice for underserved people in the Virgin Islands; to rename the Cricket Field located on Parcel H of Tract 1, Estate Nazareth, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands in his honor; and to award former Senator George E. Goodwin the Virgin Islands Medal of Honor; and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Carla J. Joseph, Donna A. Frett-Gregory, Alma Francis Heyliger and co-sponsors Sens. Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Diane T. Capehart;
- Bill No. 35-0009 An Act amending title 1 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11, section 171(a) relating to the observance of national holidays and enacting The Juneteenth National Independence Day Act to declare June 19 a legal holiday in the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Sen. Marvin A. Blyden and co-sponsored by Sens. Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Ray Fonseca and Novelle E. Francis, Jr.;
- Bill No. 35-0011 An Act honoring and commending former Senator Horace A. Callwood, Sr. posthumously for his dedication, service, and commitment to the people of the Virgin Islands and naming the north-south street immediately east of Windward Passage in his memory. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Marvin A. Blyden, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Carla J. Joseph, and Donna Frett-Gregory; and
- Bill No. 35-0007 A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Boyd "Boyzie" Orlanzo Todman for his many contributions to the people and the youth of the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Dwayne M. DeGraff, Angel L. Bolques, Jr. and Donna Frett-Gregory and co-sponsored by Sen. Carla J. Joseph.

The meeting was called to order by the Committee Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph at 9:02 a.m.

Committee Members Present

Sen. Carla J. Joseph, Chair Sen. Javan E. James, Sr., Vice-Chair Sen. Samuel Carrion Sen. Ray Fonseca Sen. Alma Francis Heyliger Sen. Kenneth L. Gittens Sen. Milton E. Potter

Sergeant-At-Arms Mr. Delvin Fleming

Public Affairs/Media Mr. Kashief Hamilton Mr. Barry Leerdam Ms. Chaunte Herbert Mr. Alwyn Baptiste, Jr. Mr. Alvin Burke, Jr Mr. Eustace Brown

Non-Committee Members Present

Sen. Pres., Novelle E. Francis, Jr. Sen. Vice- Pres., Marvin A. Blyden Sen. Donna A. Frett-Gregory Sen. Angel L. Bolques, Jr., Sen. Diane T. Capehart Sen. Dwayne M. DeGraff

Legislative Reporters

Ms. Vashti Berry Mrs. Natanya Melchior-Munoz Ms. Joanne Samuel

Clerk/ Timekeeper Ms. Delekah Callwood

Supporting Staff Elston Rhymer **Public Affairs/Media Cont'd.** Mr. Jamal Potter

Legal Counsel Attorney Nandi Sekou

In block one, Bill No. 35-0006 was introduced by Sen. Carla J. Joseph. Former Delegate to Congress, The Hon. Donna Christensen; Former Senator, The Hon. Roosevelt St. C. David; Former Senator and State Chair of the Democratic Party of the Virgin Islands, The Hon. James O'Bryan, Jr.; President of the St. Thomas Cricket Association, Mr. Doyle Jones, Mr. Gregory Goodwin, and Rev. Dr. Bentley Thomas all testified in support of the bill along with Mr. Calvert Gumbs who was present to answer questions. Also, Lieutenant Governor, The Hon. Tregenza Roach Esq. written testimony in support of the measure was read into the record. Senators were allotted one (1) round of four (4) minutes each for questions. Senator Joseph made a motion for Bill No. 35-0006 to be approved and forwarded to the Committee on Rules and Judiciary for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Gittens, Fonseca, Potter, and Frances Heyliger. The motion was carried.

In block two, Bill No. 35-0009 was introduced by Sen. Marvin A. Blyden. Former Senator, The Hon. Myron Jackson testified in support of the bill. Also, Division of Personnel Director, Ms. Cindy Richardson written testimony in support of the measure was read into the record. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of three (3) minutes each of questioning. Senator Gittens made a motion for Bill No 35-0009 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators James and Fonseca. The motion was carried.

Also, Bill No. 35-0011 was introduced by Sen. Marvin A. Blyden. Former Senator, The Hon. James O'Bryan, Jr., Horace Callwood Breakfast Club President, Mr. Eduardo Carneiro and Ms. Chaneel Callwood-Daniels testified in support of the bill. Former Senator & State Chair of the Democratic Party of the V.I., The Hon. Stedmann Hodge Jr. written testimony was read into the record. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of three (3) minutes each of questioning. Senator Gittens made a motion for Bill No 35-0011 to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Francis Heyliger, Potter, and Fonseca. The motion was carried.

In the final block of the meeting, Bill No. 35-0007 was introduced by Sen. Dwayne M. DeGraff. Former Senator, The Hon. Allison "Allie" Petrus, Jr., and Mr. Jamie Francis testified in support of the bill. Mr. Boyd "Boyzie" Orlanzo Todman was present to answer questions. Senators proceeded with one (1) round of three (3) minutes each of questioning. Senator Potter made a motion to adopt Amendment 35-222 to Bill No. 35-0007. The motion was seconded by Senators Francis Heyliger and Fonseca. The motion was carried. Senator Francis Heyliger made a motion for Bill No: 35-0007 as amended to be approved and forwarded to the Rules and Judiciary Committee for further consideration. The motion was seconded by Senators Potter and Fonseca. The motion was carried.

The Chair, Sen. Carla J. Joseph, adjourned the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection meeting at 5:21 p.m.