Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

CAPITOL BUILDING, P.O. 1690 ST. THOMAS, U.S. VIRGIN ISLANDS 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE Carla J. Joseph Legislative Secretary

35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

#### CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

#### MEMBER

Committee of the Whole Committee on Rules and Judiciary Committee on Education and Workforce Development Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

## **REVISION I** <u>Memorandum</u>: 23-004

**TO:** Members of the Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

The Hon. Javan E. James, Sr., Vice-Chair The Hon. Samuel Carrion The Hon. Ray Fonseca The Hon. Alma Francis Heyliger The Hon. Kenneth L. Gittens The Hon. Milton E. Potter

FROM: Carla J. Joseph \_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_\_ Chair Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

**DATE:** February 27, 2023

RE: Agenda-Comm. on GOVACP meeting- Tuesday, February 28, 2023

The Committee on Government Operations and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for **9:00 a.m. on Tuesday, February 28, 2023 in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas.** The purpose of the meeting is to receive and consider the following legislative measures:

- Bill No. 35-0006 An Act honoring and commending former Senator George E. Goodwin for his many years of expansive contributions to the Virgin Islands community as a whole, through his roles in various areas of service to the territory as well as advocation for social justice for underserved people in the Virgin Islands; to rename the Cricket Field located on Parcel H of Tract 1, Estate Nazareth, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands in his honor; and to award former Senator George E. Goodwin the Virgin Islands Medal of Honor; and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senator Carla J. Joseph;
- Bill No. 35-0009 An Act amending title 1 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11, section 171(a) relating to the observance of national holidays and enacting The Juneteenth National Independence Day Act to declare June 19 a legal holiday in the Virgin Islands.

Comm. Govt. Ops., Veterans Affairs & Consumer Protection February 28, 2023

This bill is sponsored by Sen. Marvin A. Blyden and co-sponsored by Sens. Angel L. Bolques, Jr. and Ray Fonseca;

- Bill No. 35-0011 An Act honoring and commending former Senator Horace A. Callwood, Sr. posthumously for his dedication, service, and commitment to the people of the Virgin Islands and naming the north-south street immediately east of Windward Passage in his memory. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Marvin A. Blyden, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Carla J. Joseph; and
- Bill No. 35-0007 A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Boyd "Boyzie" Orlanzo Todman for his many contributions to the people and the youth of the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Dwayne M. DeGraff and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

## **BLOCK I**

### 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0006, An Act honoring and commending former Senator George E. Goodwin for his many years of expansive contributions to the Virgin Islands community as a whole, through his roles in various areas of service to the territory as well as advocation for social justice for underserved people in the Virgin Islands; to rename the Cricket Field located on Parcel H of Tract 1, Estate Nazareth, St. Thomas, Virgin Islands in his honor; and to award former Senator George E. Goodwin the Virgin Islands Medal of Honor; and for other related purposes. This bill is sponsored by Senator Carla J. Joseph.

#### **Invited Testifiers:**

<b>The Honorable Donna Christensen</b>	<b>The Honorable Tregenza Roach, Esq.</b>
Former Virgin Islands Delegate to Congress	Lt. Gov. of the U.S.V.I.
<b>The Honorable Roosevelt St. C. David</b>	<b>Mr. Anthony Greene</b> , <i>Chairman</i>
Former Senator	East End Democratic Club
<b>Mr. Doyle Jones</b> , <i>President</i>	Mr. St. Clair Goodwin
St. Thomas Cricket Association	Resident
Mr. Gregory Goodwin	Mr. Calvert Gibson
Resident	Resident
Mr. Alton Grant	<b>Rev. Dr. Bentley Thomas,</b> <i>Pastor</i>
Resident	Bethel Missionary Baptist Church

Comm. Govt. Ops., Veterans Affairs & Consumer Protection February 28, 2023

## **BLOCK II**

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0009, An Act amending title 1 Virgin Islands Code, chapter 11, section 171(a) relating to the observance of national holidays and enacting The Juneteenth National Independence Day Act to declare June 19 a legal holiday in the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Senator Marvin A. Blyden and co-sponsored by Sens. Angel L. Bolques, Jr. and Ray Fonseca.

# **Invited Testifiers:**

The Honorable Myron D. Jackson Former Senator

Also, the Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0011, An Act honoring and commending former Senator Horace A. Callwood, Sr. posthumously for his dedication, service, and commitment to the people of the Virgin Islands and naming the north-south street immediately east of Windward Passage in his memory. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Marvin A. Blyden, Angel L. Bolques, Jr., and Carla J. Joseph.

# **Invited Testifiers:**

<b>The Honorable Stedmann Hodge, Jr.</b>	<b>Ms. Chaneel Callwood-Daniels</b>
Fmr. Sen. & State Chair of the Democratic Party of the V.I.	Resident
Mr. James O'Bryan, Jr., Former State Chair	Mr. Eduardo Carneiro, Chair
Democratic Party of the Virgin Islands	Horace Callwood Breakfast Club

# **BLOCK III**

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0007, A Resolution honoring and commending Mr. Boyd "Boyzie" Orlanzo Todman for his many contributions to the people and the youth of the Virgin Islands. This bill is sponsored by Sens. Dwayne M. DeGraff. and Angel L. Bolques, Jr.

# **Invited Testifier s:**

The Honorable Allison Petrus, Former Senator Legislature of the Virgin Islands

Mr. Boyd "Boyzie" Orlanzo Todman Resident

Mr. Arthur Solomon Resident

CC: All Senators All Chiefs of Staff All Divisions

Mr. Orville Isaac Resident

**Mr. Terrence Lake** Resident

**Mr. Jaime Francis** Resident

10:30 AM - 12:00 PM

12:00 PM - 1:30 PM

Ms. Cindy Richardson, Director

**Division of Personnel**