

Legislature Of The Virgin Islands

Capitol Building, P.O. 1690 St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands 00804

Tel. (340) 693-3515 Fax. (340) 693-3633 Email: senatorcarlajoseph@legvi.org Website: www.senatorcarlajoseph.com

THE HONORABLE

Carla J. Joseph

LEGISLATIVE SECRETARY

35TH LEGISLATURE OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

CHAIR

Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

Liaison to the United States Department of Interior and Office of Insular Affairs

MEMBER

Committee of the Whole
Committee on Rules and Judiciary
Committee on Education and Workforce Development
Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning
Committee on Housing, Transportation, and Telecommunications

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS, VETERANS AFFAIRS, AND CONSUMER PROTECTION

AGENDA

The Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection has scheduled a meeting for 10:00 a.m. on Monday, December 18, 2023 in the Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room on St. Croix. The purpose of the meeting is to receive testimony and consider the following legislative measures:

BLOCK I - 10:00 AM - 11:30AM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0116 – A Resolution honoring and commending Lieutenant Colonel Leayle Gerard Galiber for his leadership in the Virgin Islands National Guard and his dedication to his country and to the people of the Virgin Islands This bill is sponsored by Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr.

Invited Testifiers:

LTC Dante P. Galiber, MD, FACC.

Retired

The Honorable Gregory Francis,

Former Lt. Governor of the Virgin Islands

LTC Beresford Edwards, Retired

BLOCK II - 11:30 AM -2:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony concerning Bill No. 35-0058 – An Act amending title 29 Virgin Islands Code, by adding a chapter 25 to enact The Public-Private Partnership Agreement Act. This bill is sponsored by Senator Marise C. James.

Invited Testifiers

Honorable Derek A. Gabriel, *Commissioner* Department of Public Works

Mr. Carlton Dowe, *Executive Director* V.I. Port Authority

Comm. Govt. Ops., Veterans Affairs, & Consumer Protection December 18, 2023

Mr. Wayne Biggs, CEO

V.I. Economic Development Authority

Mr. John Wessel. President

GEC, LLC

Honorable Lisa Alejandro, Commissioner

V.I. Department of Property and Procurement

Mr. Rodger Merritt, Executive Director

V.I. Waste Management Authority

Mr. Andrew Smith, CEO/Executive

V.I. Water and Power Authority

Mr. Robert Graham, Executive Director

V.I. Housing Authority

Ms. Dayna Clendinen, Interim Executive Director

V.I. Housing Finance Authority

Mr. Clifford Graham, Partner

Jackson Development Company, LLC

Mr. Robert Jackson, Managing Partner

Jackson Development Company, LLC

Mr. Eric Cusin, Vice-president

J. Benton Construction, LLC

Honorable Dionne Wells-Hedrington, Ph.D., Commissioner

Department of Education

Mrs. Jennifer Matarangas-King, Vice President of Public Relations, and Governmental Affairs

VIYA

LUNCH - 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM

BLOCK III - 3:30 PM - 5:00 PM

The Committee will receive testimony on the operations of the Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission including but not limited to enabling law and jurisdiction, current department challenges, and plan of action to resolve challenges.

Invited Testifiers:

Ms. Vernice Gumbs. Executive Director

Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission

Ms. Loretta Lloyd, Chairwoman

Virgin Islands Taxicab Commission Board

CC: All Senators

> All Chiefs of Staff All Divisions **Public Affairs**

Media