#### The Capitol Building

Charlotte Amalie, United States Virgin Islands 00802 340.774.0880

#### Golden Rock

Christiansted, United States Virgin Islands 00820 340.773.2424

#### St. John Annex

Cruz Bay, United States Virgin Islands 00830 340.776.6285



# CHAIRMAN Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning

#### VICE CHAIR

Committee on Rules and Judiciary

#### MEMBER

Committee on Health, Hospitals, and Human Services Committee on Culture, Sports, Parks, and Youth Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

# MILTON E. POTTER

Senator, 35th Legislature of the United States Virgin Islands

**TO**: Kurell Hodge, J.D.

FROM: Milton E. Potter Milton E. Potter

**DATE**: February 2, 2024

**SUBJECT:** February 2, 2024 Committee on Disaster Recovery,

Infrastructure, and Planning Committee Report

The attached report of the Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning is submitted pursuant to the Rules of the 35<sup>th</sup> Legislature of the Virgin Islands.

# COMMITTEE REPORT – Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning: February 2, 2024

The Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning was called to order at 9:39am by Committee Chairman, Senator Milton Potter. The meeting was held in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Chambers on St. Thomas, VI, to consider the following:

## **BLOCK I**

**Bill #35-0172:** An Act amending Title 29, chapter 5 Virgin Islands Code, relating to building codes to provide for adoption of nationally recognized consensus-based codes and standards and amendments to such codes that are in the best interests of the territory, and to provide for clarifications to the Virgin Islands building code.

Sponsored by: Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory

#### **INVITED TESTIFIERS:**

The Honorable Derek Gabriel Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Public Works

The Honorable Jean Pierre Oriol Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Planning & Natural Resources

Mrs. Adrienne Williams-Octalien Director, Virgin Islands Office of Disaster Recovery

Mr. Julio U.B. King Chairman, Virgin Islands Board of General Construction Contractors

#### **BLOCK II**:

**Bill #35-0202:** An Act amending title 29, chapter 3 of the Virgin Islands Code to authorize the Historic Preservation Commission to relax certain restrictions as it relates to conservation and preservation of historic and cultural assets in the historic downtown districts of Christiansted, Frederiksted, Charlotte Amalie and Cruz Bay

Sponsored by: Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

## **INVITED TESTIFIERS:**

The Honorable Ray Martinez

Commissioner, Virgin Islands Police department

Mr. Matthew Ridgway
President, Christiansted Retail and Restaurant Association

Mr. Shomari A.C. Moorehead Our Town Frederiksted, Inc

Mr. Akeel St. Jean President, St. Croix Chamber of Commerce

Mr. John P. Woods President, St. Thomas Chamber of Commerce

Ms. April Newland

Historic Preservation Commission

Dr. Akil Petersen

Member, Historic Preservation Commission

Mr. David Hayes Chairman, Historic Preservation Commission

Mr. Sean Krigger Deputy State Historical Preservation Officer

# **Committee Members in attendance:**

Senator Diane T. Capehart (Tardy)
Senator Alma Francis Heyliger (Tardy)
Senator Kenneth L. Gittens (Tardy)
Senator Marise L. James
Senator Franklin D. Johnson
Senator Carla J. Joseph
Senator Milton E. Potter

#### Non-Committee Members in attendance

Senator Ray Fonseca Senator Novelle E. Francis, Jr. Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory

# Public Affairs / Media:

Omari Hicks
Chaunte Herbert
Jonelle Jackson
Melissa Gustave
Alwyn Baptiste
Winston Nugent
Alvin Burke
Bernard Matthew
Eustace Browne
Barry Leerdam
Africah Harrigan
Jamal Potter

Clerked by: Pauline Dawes

**Counsel:** Amos Carty, Jr.

**Reporters:** Tricia Sealey 9:39am – 11:34am

Joanne Samuel 11:52am – 12:48pm Nadine Williams 12:48pm – 2:00pm Joanne Samuel 2:00pm – 2:59pm

Sergeant-At-Arms/Security: Shani Smith & Delvin Fleming

Testifiers present during the meeting were: The Honorable Jean Pierre Oriol, Commissioner of the Virgin Islands Department of Planning and Natural Resources (DPNR); Amanda Jackson, Territorial Director of the Division of Permits (DPNR); Julio U.B. King, Chairman of the Virgin Islands Board of Contractors, Trades, and Crafts; and Graciela Rivera Territorial Hazard Mitigation Officer, Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency management Agency and Virgin Islands Office of Disaster Recovery. The Honorable Derek Gabriel was not present, but he submitted a Position Letter on behalf of the Department of Public Works.

Julio U.B. King gave his opening statement. Jean Pierre Oriol, followed with his opening statement. Graciera Rivera, appearing on behalf of Director Adrienne Williams-Octalien, then gave her opening statement. Following the opening statements, the committee conducted a five (5) minute round of questioning.

At the conclusion of the round of questioning, Senator Marise C. James moved that **Amendment #35-685**, which amends Bill #35-0172, be adopted by the committee. Senator Carla J. Joseph seconded the motion. There were no objections, so the motion carried.

Senator Marise C. James then moved that **Bill #35-0172**, **as amended**, be voted on favorably by the committee and forwarded to the Committee on Rules and Judiciary with a favorable recommendation for further consideration and action. Senators Alma Francis Heyliger, Kenneth L. Gittens, and Carla J. Joseph seconded the motion. Roll call was taken.

Senators Diane T. Capehart, Alma Francis Heyliger, Kenneth L. Gittens, Marise C. James, Franklin D. Johnson, Carla J. Joseph, and Milton E. Potter voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried. **7 Yeas, 0 Nays.** 

The committee then proceeded to Block II. Testifiers present were: Shomari A.C. Moorehead, President, Our Town Frederiksted, Inc; Shawna Richards, Vice President, Our Town Frederiksted, Inc; John P. Woods, President, St Thomas Chamber of Commerce; April Newland, VI Territorial Association of Realtors, Akil Petersen, Member Historic Preservation Commission; Sean Krigger, Deputy State Historical Preservation Officer, and Jean Pierre Oriol, Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Planning and Natural Resources.

John Woods gave his opening statements. Following Mr. Woods' statement, opening statements were received from April Newland, Jean Pierre Oriol, Akil Petersen, and Shomari Moorehead, in that order. Following the opening statements, the committee conducted a five (5) minute round of questioning.

Through the Chair, Senator Marise James requested the list of 100 historic sites in the Virgin Islands. Mr Krigger stated he would provide the list electronically.

After the questioning and extensive discussions on the content of the bill, Senator Kennth L. Gittens moved that **Bill #35-0202** be held in Committee on Disaster Recovery,

Infrastructure, and Planning. Senators Alma Francis Heyliger, Marise C. James, and Carla J. Joseph seconded the motion. Roll call was taken.

Senators Diane T. Capehart, Alma Francis Heyliger, Kenneth L. Gittens, Marise C. James, Franklin D. Johnson, Carla J. Joseph, and Milton E. Potter voted in favor of the motion. The motion carried. **7 Yeas, 0 Nays.** 

Senator Milton E. Potter adjourned the meeting at **2:59pm**.