The Capitol Building

Charlotte Amalie, United States Virgin Islands 00802 340.774.0880

Golden Rock

Christiansted, United States Virgin Islands 00820 340.773.2424

St. John Annex

Cruz Bay, United States Virgin Islands 00830 340.776.6285



CHAIRMAN Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning

VICE CHAIR

Committee on Rules and Judiciary

MEMBER

Committee on Health, Hospitals, and Human Services Committee on Culture, Sports, Parks, and Youth Committee on Government Operations, Veterans Affairs, and Consumer Protection

MILTON E. POTTER

Senator, 35th Legislature of the United States Virgin Islands

TO: Members of the Committee on Disaster Recovery,

Infrastructure, and Planning

The Honorable Diane T. Capehart, Vice Chair

The Honorable Alma Francis Heyliger The Honorable Kenneth L. Gittens The Honorable Marise C. James The Honorable Franklin D. Johnson The Honorable Carla J. Joseph

FROM: Milton E. Potter

Chairman, Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and

Metin 3 Petter

Planning

DATE: January 30, 2024

SUBJECT: REVISED-2 Agenda | Committee on Disaster Recovery,

Infrastructure, and Planning – 1/30/2024

The Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning will meet on Tuesday, January 30, 2024 at 9:30am in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Chambers, on St. Thomas, Virgin Islands to consider the following:

BLOCK I

Bill #35-0172: An Act amending Title 29, chapter 5 Virgin Islands Code, relating to building codes to provide for adoption of nationally recognized consensus-based codes and standards and amendments to such codes that are in the best interests of the territory, and to provide for clarifications to the Virgin Islands building code.

Sponsored by: Senator Donna A. Frett-Gregory

INVITED TESTIFIERS:

The Honorable Derek Gabriel Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Public Works

The Honorable Jean Pierre Oriol Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Planning & Natural Resources

Mrs. Adrienne Williams-Octalien
Director, Virgin Islands Office of Disaster Recovery

Mr. Julio U.B. King Chairman, Virgin Islands Board of General Construction Contractors

BLOCK II:

Bill #35-0202: An Act amending title 29, chapter 3 of the Virgin Islands Code to authorize the Historic Preservation Commission to relax certain restrictions as it relates to conservation and preservation of historic and cultural assets in the historic downtown districts of Christiansted, Frederiksted, Charlotte Amalie and Cruz Bay

Sponsored by: Senator Kenneth L. Gittens

INVITED TESTIFIERS:

The Honorable Ray Martinez

Commissioner, Virgin Islands Police department

Mr. Matthew Ridgway President, Christiansted Retail and Restaurant Association

Mr. Shomari A.C. Moorehead Our Town Frederiksted, Inc

Mr. Akeel St. Jean

President, St. Croix Chamber of Commerce

Mr. John P. Woods

President, St. Thomas Chamber of Commerce

Ms. April Newland
Historic Preservation Commission

Dr. Akil Petersen

Member, Historic Preservation Commission

Mr. David Hayes Chairman, Historic Preservation Commission

Mr. Sean Krigger
Deputy State Historical Preservation Officer