MONDAY, JUNE 30, 2025

CHAIR: SENATOR NOVELLE E. FRANCIS, JR. VICE CHAIR: SENATOR MARVIN A. BLYDEN

Committee on Budget, Appropriations and Finance 10:00 A.M.
Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

The Committee on Budget, Appropriations and Finance will meet on **Monday, June 30, 2025, 10:00 A.M.** in the **Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall** on St. Thomas to receive testimony on the Fiscal Year 2026 Budget.

BLOCK I 10:00 A.M. - 12:00 P.M.

Office of the Adjutant General Kodjo Knox-Limbacker, Adjutant General

BLOCK II 1:00 P.M. - 3:00 P.M.

Office of Veterans Affairs Patrick Farrell, Director

BLOCK III 3:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M.

V.I. Department of Education Honorable Dr. Dionne Wells-Hedrington, Commissioner **TUESDAY**, **JULY 01**, **2025**

CHAIR: SENATOR NOVELLE E. FRANCIS, JR. VICE CHAIR: SENATOR MARVIN A. BLYDEN

Committee on Budget, Appropriations and Finance
10:00 A.M.
Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

The Committee on Budget, Appropriations and Finance will meet on **Tuesday**, **July 01**, **2025**, **10:00 A.M.** in the **Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall** on St. Thomas to receive testimony on the Fiscal Year 2026 Budget.

BLOCK I 10:00 A.M. - 12:00 P.M.

Bureau of Motor Vehicles Barbara Jackson McIntosh, Director

BLOCK II 1:00 P.M. - 3:00 P.M.

Department of Sports, Parks & Recreation Vincent Roberts, Commissioner Nominee

BLOCK III 3:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M.

Department of Property & Procurement Honorable Lisa Alejandro, Commissioner

WEDNESDAY, JULY 02, 2025

CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK

Reserved

THURSDAY, JULY 03, 2025

Emancipation Day

Holiday

FRIDAY, JULY 04, 2025

Independence Day

Holiday

MONDAY, JULY 07, 2025

> CHAIR: SENATOR RAY FONSECA VICE CHAIR: SENATOR HUBERT L. FREDERICK

Committee on Health, Hospitals and Human Services 10:00 A.M. Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

Please be advised that the Committee on Health, Hospitals & Human Services will be conducting a meeting on Monday, July 07, 2025, 2025, at 10:00 a.m., in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, on St. Thomas.

BLOCK I 10:00 A.M. – 12:30 P.M.

Bill No. 36-0079 An Act amending title 19 Virgin Islands Code, part IV, chapter 37, to add a new subchapter mandating territorial hospitals to provide paternity testing services upon request.

An Act amending title 19 Virgin Islands Code relating to nursing homes and assisted living facilities by adding a new chapter 76 to establish the services that nursing homes and assisted living facilities are required to provide; establishing limitations on financial charges, requirements for visitation, and the rights of a resident.

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Justa Encarnacion, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Health
Mr. Gordon Rhea, Esq., Attorney General, V.I. Department of Justice
Honorable Averil E. George, Commissioner, Department of Human Services
Mr. Troy Schuster, Virgin Islands State Director, American Association of Retired Persons

BLOCK II 1:15 P.M. – 4:00 P.M.

The committee will receive a comprehensive overview of the growing challenges posed by the direct discharge of minimally processed wastewater in public areas and brine discharge in our bays, which threatens environmental safety, public hygiene, and community health. This synopsis should help us understand both the immediate and long-term health risks, including potential disease outbreaks, and to provide guidance on best practices for sewage management, public health protection, and coordinated government response.

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Justa Encarnacion, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Health **Honorable Jean Pierre-Oriol**, Commissioner, V.I. Department of Planning and Natural Resources **Mr. Daryl Griffith**, Interim Executive Director, V.I. Waste Management Authority **Mr. Karl Knight**, Executive Director & CEO, V.I. Water & Power Authority

TUESDAY, JULY 08, 2025

CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK

Reserved

WEDNESDAY, JULY 09, 2025

CHAIR: SENATOR MARVIN A. BLYDEN VICE CHAIR: SENATOR CLIFFORD A. JOSEPH, SR.

Committee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunications 9:00 A.M.
Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

availability and reliability of contractors.

The Committee on Housing, Transportation and Telecommunications will meet on **Wednesday**, **July 09**, **2025**, **at 9:00 a.m.** in **the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall**, to address issues related to the residential housing market from the perspective of the various Housing, Banking & Insurance invitees. The committee will engage in a discussion of various topics impacting homeownership in the Virgin Islands, including, but not limited to, construction costs, zoning and building code requirements, local and federal government policies and programs, the cost and availability of financing, the cost and accessibility of insurance, the attainability of labor, and the

Invited Testifiers:

Eugene Jones, Executive Director, Virgin Islands Housing Finance Authority
David Bennett, Chief Executive Officer, VI Territorial Association of Realtors
Ada Rivera, Acting Area Director, USDA Rural Development Virgin Islands
James Crites, Chairman, Virgin Islands Bankers Association
Adrienne Williams-Octalien, Director, Office of Disaster Recovery
Wayne Biggs, Chief Executive Officer, Economic Development Authority
Sandra Harty, President, Virgin Islands Insurance Association
John Woods, Chairman, Board of Architects, Engineering and Land Surveyors
Honorable Tregenza Roach, Lieutenant Governor of the Virgin Islands
Honorable Jean-Pierre Oriol, Commissioner, Department of Planning and Natural Resources

THURSDAY, JULY 10, 2025

CHAIR: SENATOR NOVELLE E. FRANCIS, JR. VICE CHAIR: SENATOR MARVIN A. BLYDEN

Committee on Budget, Appropriations and Finance 10:00 A.M.

Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

The Committee on Budget, Appropriations and Finance will meet on **Thursday**, **July 10**, **2025**, **10:00 A.M.** in the **Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall** on St. Thomas to receive testimony on the Fiscal Year 2026 Budget.

10:00 A.M. Department of Planning & Natural Resources

12:00 P.M. LUNCH

1:00 P.M. Virgin Islands Council on the Arts

3:00 P.M. Historic Preservation Commission

FRIDAY,

JULY 11, 2025

PRESIDENT: SENATOR MILTON E. POTTER VICE PRESIDENT: SENATOR KENNETH L. GITTENS

Committee of the Whole 10:00 A.M.

Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall