

MONDAY, JANUARY 29, 2024

CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK

Reserved

TUESDAY, JANUARY 30, 2024

CHAIR: SENATOR MILTON E. POTTER VICE CHAIR: SENATOR DIANE T. CAPEHART

Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure and Planning 9:30 A.M. Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

The Committee on Disaster Recovery, Infrastructure, and Planning will meet on Tuesday, January 30, 2024 at 9:30 am in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, on St. Thomas, Virgin Islands to consider the following:

BLOCK I:

Bill No. <u>35-0172</u>

An Act amending Title 29, chapter 5 Virgin Islands Code, relating to building codes to provide for adoption of nationally recognized consensus-based codes and standards and amendments to such codes that are in the best interests of the territory, and to provide for clarifications to the Virgin Islands building code.

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Derek Gabriel, Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Public Works
Honorable Jean Pierre Oriol, Commissioner, Virgin Islands Department of Planning & Natural Resources
Mrs. Adrienne Williams-Octalien, Director, Virgin Islands Office of Disaster Recovery
Mr. Julio U.B. King, Chairman, Virgin Islands Board of General Construction Contractors

BLOCK II:

Bill No. <u>35-0202</u>

An Act amending title 29, chapter 3 of the Virgin Islands Code to authorize the Historic Preservation Commission to relax certain restrictions as it relates to conservation and preservation of historic and cultural assets in the historic downtown districts of Christiansted, Frederiksted, Charlotte Amalie and Cruz Bay

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Ray Martinez, Commissioner, Virgin Islands Police Department

Mr. Matthew Ridgway, President, Christiansted Retail and Restaurant Association

Mr. Shomari A.C. Moorehead, Our Town Frederiksted, Inc

Mr. Akeel St. Jean, President, St. Croix Chamber of Commerce

Mr. John P. Woods, President, St. Thomas Chamber of Commerce

Mr. David B. Bennett, RCE, CAE Chief Executive Officer, Historic Preservation Commission

Dr. Akil Petersen, Member, Historic Preservation Commission

Mr. David Hayes, Chairman, Historic Preservation Commission

WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 31, 2024

CHAIR: SENATOR KENNETH L. GITTENS VICE CHAIR: SENATOR RAY FONSECA

Committee on Homeland Security, Justice and Public Safety 10:00 A.M.

Cleone H. Creque Legislative Conference Room

Please be advised that the 35th Legislature's Committee on Homeland Security, Justice, and Public Safety has scheduled a legislative committee hearing for **10:00 a.m., Wednesday, January 31, 2024**, in the Cleone H. Creque Legislative Conference Room on St. John. This is an in-person hearing.

BLOCK I 10:00 A.M.

Public Safety Update - This update marks the second meeting dedicated to addressing public safety and security issues on the island of St. John. During our previous meeting, on November 9th, 2023, committee members moved to subpoena the leadership of the Virgin Islands Police Department to compel their attendance.

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Ray Martinez, Commissioner, V.I. Police Department

Daryl Jaschen, Director, V.I.T.E.M.A.

Mr. Antonio Stevens, Acting Director, V.I. Fire and Emergency Medical Services

Mr. Steven Phillip, Chief, V.I. Police Department

Mr. Clayton Brown, Deputy Chief, V.I. Police Department

Ms. Sandra Colbourne, Captain, V.I. Police Department

Mr. Bob Malacarne, President, St. John Rescue

Ms. Carmen Wesslehoft-Hedrington, St. John Resident, V.I. Taxi Association

Mr. Lawrence Randhansingh, President, V.I. Taxi Association

Ms. Sharon Coldren, Volunteer President, Coral Bay Community Council

Ms. Myrtle Barry, St. John Resident, Concerned People of the V.I.

Mr. James Penn, St. John Resident, V.I. Taxi Association

THURSDAY,

FEBRUARY 01, 2024

CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK

Reserved

FRIDAY,

FEBRUARY 02, 2024

CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK

Reserved

MONDAY, FEBRUARY 05, 2024

PRESIDENT: SENATOR NOVELLE E. FRANCIS, JR. VICE PRESIDENT: SENATOR MARVIN A. BLYDEN

Committee of the Whole 10:00 A.M. Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall

TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 06, 2024

CHAIR: SENATOR DONNA A. FRETT-GREGORY VICE CHAIR: SENATOR NOVELLE E. FRANCIS, JR.

Committee on Budget,
Appropriations and Finance
10:00 A.M
Frits E. Lawaetz Conference Room

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 07, 2024

CHAIR: SENATOR RAY FONSECA VICE CHAIR: SENATOR KENNETH L. GITTENS

Committee on Health, Hospitals and Human Services 10:00 A.M. Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall Please be advised that the Committee on Health, Hospitals & Human Services will be conducting a meeting on Wednesday, February 07, 2024, at 10:00 a.m. in the Earle B. Ottley Legislative Hall, St. Thomas.

BLOCK I 10:00 A.M. - 12:00 P.M.

Bill No. 35-0224

An Act amending title 19, part V, chapter 45, subchapter VI to increase access to behavioral health services, with a focus on a Psychiatric Emergency Response Team to provide mobile crisis intervention services, and the 9-8-8 telecommunication system,

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Justa Encarnacion, Commissioner, Department of Health Honorable Ray Martinez, Commissioner, V.I. Police Department Mr. Gleston McIntosh, Director, Peace Officers Standards Training Dr. David Hall, SJD, President, University of the Virgin Islands

BLOCK II 12:30 P.M. - 2:30 P.M.

Bill No. 35-0207 An Act amending title 19 Virgin Islands Code, part I, adding chapter 6a to create the Territorial Chronic Kidney Disease and Diabetes Registry,

Invited Testifiers:

Honorable Justa Encarnacion, Commissioner, Department of Health **Dr. Lyna Fredericks**, Director of Chronic Disease, Department of Health **Dr. Tai Hunte-Ceaser**, Medical Director, Department of Health

BLOCK III 2:35 P.M. - 4:30 P.M.

The Committee will receive testimony on the operational status of the St. Thomas East End Medical Center Corporation.

Invited Testifiers:

Dr. Tess Richards, Interim Executive Director, St. Thomas East End Medical Center Corp. **Karl Callwood**, Chairman of the Board, St. Thomas East End Medical Center Corp.

THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 08, 2024

CHAIR: SENATOR DIANE T. CAPEHART VICE CHAIR: SENATOR MILTON E. POTTER

Committee on Rules and Judiciary 9:30 A.M.

Frits E. Lawaetz Legislative Conference Room

FRIDAY,

FEBRUARY 09, 2024

CONSTITUENT MEETINGS AND OFFICE WORK

Reserved